Month: April 2011

  • I’m a Father!

    I don’t have a great track record with electronics. I usually lose a camera once a year, and a phone once every two years. While my family insists I do this purposefully with the intent of always upgrading to the latest model; I’m really just clumsy and absent minded. It was worse in my 20′s, but now that I’m in my mid 40′s I’m noticing a another degradation LOL. Guess I’m somewhere between 45 and Alzheimer’s! I went back to look how many times I’ve blogged about getting a new camera and it’s a little embarrassing. Nevertheless, after losing my beloved Canon Powershot SD3500 in January, I’ve been using my old G9 and waiting for a new model to be released that I’ve had my eye on. So here it is, my new baby:

    I sacrificed a couple of megapixels for a faster CMOS sensor with high sensitivity. The screen is slightly smaller (3.2″ vs 3.5″), and the zoom is slightly lower (4.4x vs 5x) but it has full 1080p high definition video, High Speed Burst mode (up to 8.2 frames per second) and Av/Tv (aperture priority and shutter priority) shooting modes. It also has an neat Vivid Color setting, which makes photos look like paintings, as well as poster and miniature functionality. Take a look:

    12.1 megapixels • 3.2 screen • 4.4× zoom Compact camera with manual controls, stainless steel body and touch screen interface featuring the company’s ‘HS’ system that promises better low-light performance and high-speed photography through a combination of a 12.1MP back-illuminated CMOS sensor and DIGIC 4 processor. It features an F2.0-5.8 24-105mm equiv. lens and a large 3.2 inch LCD. Users have the option to shoot Super Slow 340 x 240 movies at 240fps and 1080p24 Full HD video. There is also a Movie Digest mode that records a short video clip right before shooting a still image and then combines one day’s worth of clips into a video.


    Of course, the proof’s in the pudding, so here are some photos I took this weekend:


    First photos with my new camera


    Click here for more…


    Dar invited us to Palm Spring for brunch yesterday. Here’s Andy trying to feed Rio an orange!


    Chazz & Rio amongst the spring flowers in West Hollywood


    To the “security” guard who told me it was a “violation of federal law to take pictures outside the Pacific Design Center”, enjoy the photos. I was only pretending to be deaf!


    Pacific Design Center, West Hollywood, CA. Click here for more…


    A boy and his dogs…


    Picking oranges with Andy, Chazz & Rio


    We were taking all these pictures by the lake, when someone yelled at us and told us we were on an active golf course. LOL


    Snow capped Big Bear mountain in the distance


    Andy, Roxy, Chazz & Rio


    Spring in Palm Springs!


    Favorite cousins!


    Happy Easter, Happy Spring!


    Click here for the best of the rest…


    Andy getting stuck in the folding chair…please don’t call Child Services on us! :)


    Chazz & Rio play in the back yard while Andy picks oranges. Click full screen for HD.

  • Breaking News – My Winning Announcement

    Hi everyone! Sorry I haven’t been blogging much lately. I’ve been working on a deal that up until today I haven’t been able to talk about. It’s just past midnight, April 1st and I’m writing you from the penthouse suite of New York’s famed Plaza Hotel; preparing for one of the biggest events in my entire life. Now that all of the contracts have been signed, I can officially announce to all of you that I will be headlining with Charlie Sheen on his “My Violent Torpedo of Truth Tour” that comes to Radio City Music Hall here in New York next week!!  I’m so excited! Charlie and I met last month when I did a photo shoot with one of his Goddesses. We had an immediate connection. I too, have often felt misunderstood by the media. I have been ridiculed for my Socratic DNA and my “winning” photographs. Charlie made me an offer I couldn’t refuse; so here I sit preparing to live the Sheen Dream! If anyone borrowed my brain right now for like 5 seconds, they would be like “Dude, I can’t handle it. Unplug this bastard!” I hope that all of you gnarly gnarlingtons will buy tickets and support me and Charlie. I took a big gamble by quitting my job and signing this contract, but I’m sure it will pay off winningly. As always, thank you all for your support.

     

    The donations were all Charlie’s idea. He’s the most generous man I’ve ever met.
    A true inspiration to us all. I’m happy to give $1 to Japan to get them winning again!


    After meeting Charlie last month I appeared on one of his webcasts and realized “Drug tests don’t lie”.
    I used a fake goatee so as not to be recognized, as I wasn’t sure of the future of the relationship.


    Charlie has been incredibly generous thus far.
    Here we are dining on lobster and caviar at the Ritz
    .


    Thank you Charlie. You’ve changed my life. Duh!

    April Fools!