Month: October 2011

  • The Xanga Conundrum

    Update:  Just got back from Chicago and I hope to be back on Xanga this winter. In the meantime, friend/follow me on facebook, Twitter, Google + or  tumblr. Latest photos can always be found here. I’ve applied to be on the Xanga Product Council, so if that happens maybe some of my ideas will be implemented. Thanks! –Carey


    June 13, 2011 6:37 PM
    I’m sorry I’ve been so neglectful of my humble Xanga. Each time I would think of updating, it just seemed to be too much to fit in one post; but of course the less I update, the more things kept happening. For the past month, every time I wanted to blog about Sarah Palin or Armageddon (or the lack thereof) or the Dream Act or Xangan visits or road trips or reconnecting with old friends or birthday parties or frat parties or Rio or Chazz or celebrity sightings or customer service or red carpet events or holidays or fill in the ______; it seemed that it was easier and faster to just upload photos to Facebook with brief captions or write a short Tumblr (I know…traitor!) post or tweet a photo or two. That’s the thing about Xanga that I’m conflicted about. I don’t want it to ever be Tumblr or Facebook, but I wish it was a little more adaptive to the times…so my blog here could evolve and not just languish. (Xanga’s new sign in options for comments should help!)  Oh well, I’m still a proud Xangan…even if lately I’ve only had time for proper updates once a month. In the meantime, here’s what’s been happening the past few weeks:


    Eva received her Ph.D. yesterday and many of our far flung GLY friends from all over the world were in Santa Barbara to help her celebrate!


    Here’s a video of the 12 x 12 photo book I made for Eva, that contains the photos of celebrations we’ve had all over the world the past 14 years. (This can’t be viewed in Germany, so if you’re German, you can view it here).


    After the graduation ceremony last night we went to the beach for a sunset picnic while the Germans played a game of slow motion volleyball!


    We celebrated Tommy’s 10th birthday last week at Farrell’s where I used to work when I was 16!


    Chazz & Rio had a great month in the urban jungle of Los Angeles!


    Reconnecting with old friends is always fun…seeing pictures of yourself from 20 years ago, not so much!


    The unofficial start of summer was spent again in Santa Barbara on Bassam’s oceanfront villa, Unfortunately my dogs got skunked!


    Xangan David (Fongster8) paid a week long visit to The Hotel Careyfornia and enjoyed himself!


    Dinner with dreamy dreamer David Cho who I previously wrote about, is always a treat. He’s such a bright light in this world. I can’t say enough about this guy!

    That’s it for now. For more frequent updates, friend me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter or Tumblr. Have a great summer everyone!