March 13, 2008

  • Reality TV, Xanga & Satan’s Spawn









    tysonthais Tyson and I had dinner at the beach in Santa Monica tonight.  He may be moving to another state soon, which would would be a bummer for me, but I hope he gets the job he wants.  It’s funny, but had I never met Tyson, I wouldn’t have started my Xanga.  The only reason I opened an account here was to comment on his blog.  And had I not first seen Tyson on the reality show Beauty & The Geek, a few years ago, I wouldn’t have ever gotten to know him.  (LOL, I just found out that he was the “Geek of the Week” on this website, geeksugar.com last year.  What a hoot:)

    Wonder where Will Smith picked up his impressive Rubik’s Cube skills in The Pursuit of Happyness? Thanks to one of the world’s top competitive Rubik’s Cube champions Tyson Mao, Smith was able to learn how to master the mind-boggling cube for his leading role.



    When Mao’s younger brother Toby taught him how to solve the cube inJuly 2003, it was only a matter of time before Mao could solve thepuzzle faster then his brother…that is in less than two minutes-blindfolded of course. When not covering their eyes, Tyson and Toby are’speedcubing’ wizards, solving the cube in less than 20 seconds andtaking part in competitions all over the country. Twenty-two year oldSan Franciscan native Mao has only been beat by two of the world’s top3x3x3 blindfolded Rubik’s Cube competitors. This and the fact that hewas one of the ‘geeks’ in the hit reality show Beauty and the Geek last year, makes him a perfect geeksugar geek of the week.

    Now that Tyson’s moving away, I guess I need a new reality show friend.  Who should it be?  Danny Noriega or Christian Siriano??  As Jad so artfully illustrates here, they’re both bottoms…which is more than I can say for Tyson.  LOL



    Christian was on Ellen yesterday, and Danny was on today.  I recorded both, but haven’t watched yet.  It would have been fun to see them on together, don’tcha think?  LOL  I also saw on YouTube that Ellen tried to call that idiotic Oklahoma representative Sally Kern, who made news recently by proclaiming that gay people were more dangerous than terrorists:



    Ellen’s first guest Wanda Sykes, had a witty retort for this whack job:

    “I would like Sally Kern to move up in government, because if she thinks that homosexuality is a bigger threat than terrorism, then maybe she’ll get our troops out of Iraq and they’ll go invade West Hollywood!  Anything to get our troops home!”

    But wait, it gets better!  Apparently, salacious Sally has a big ole’ GAY SON!  As reported by Queerty:



    If you’d like to take action, click here.

    At any rate, I still have American Idol (I suspect I’ll have another bottom to add to the mix…a gay stripper to boot) and Top Chef to watch tonight, so, back to reality.




Comments (20)

  • That’s pretty cool…I can’t do a Rubik’s Cube with my eyes open. Can’t imagine even trying it blindfolded. Sorry about Tyson moving, hope it’s not too far to be able to go visit. Don’t know who Danny or Christian are so I can’t make a recommendation for your reality show friend…lol! Sally Kern’s is a wicked wench, I feel sorry for her son. I like Wanda Sykes reply to her remarks though! 

  • Oh…I forgot…great smile and great sweat shirt!

  • @Vana_Roth - Danny was from American Idol and Christian was the winner of Project Runway.  LOL

  • Hi Gary,

    Just want to check is the method I am using to reply your comments is correct, have you received my message to you yesterday?  Sorry, I’m not familiar with xanga actually, I send message to you by directly reply your comments.

    Isabella

  • @liucolinbb - Yes, I got you message.  Thanks.  Sorry for not replying.  I’m glad Colin is OK, but again, I’m very sorry for his classmate.  Do take care of him.  xoxo Carey

  • @CareyGLY - Hi, NO, I don’t expect you to reply but just checking whether my reply method is correct.  Thanks. :)

  • LOL, you really like Xanga, don’t you?

    “Radical Christians in America are just as dangerous as the Islamic terrorists who perpetrated the 9/11 terror attacks on America.”
     – Rosie O’Donnell

    I think these people really need to get a life, and quit disturbing with other people’s. Use the free time to worry about the environmental issue or something instead.

    Damn Sally Kern….

  • well, i for one am glad that tyson got you involved in xanga as i do enjoy your posts very much – thanks Ty!  as for bigots of any stripe, i have no use for them – they’re the true terrorists of the world.  peace, Al

  • where u get that xanga ? owh man . Super cool!

  • WOAH  i used to watch beauty and the geeek! and i totally remember tyson!!! infact he was one of my favourites =) hahahaha

    omg that is so cool! hahaha

  • oh and did you buy that xanga sweater?? xanga!!!!!! woooo

  • Oooohhhh…you can tell how much TV I watch…lol! I’ve never seen either show.

  • I couldn’t finish listening to that ranting – pure ignorance. 

    Nice sweatshirt!

  • hahah i remember seeing that dude from beauty and the geek.

    ryc: i say let them jump if they wanna jump. lol  

  • That is a very nice beach. :)

  • @ch_iu - You’re wise beyond your years Lewis

    @pukemeister - I’m glad you enjoy my posts.  Thanks!

    @aizzat - http://www.printfection.com/xanga

    @shake_things_up - I’ll tell him you’re a fan…and see above for sweatshirt link

    @Vana_Roth - You’re not missing much…though Idol can be a fun diversion

    @ElusiveWords - They say ignorance is bliss…I’m not so sure!

    @ibizajb - So you’re a bridge purist huh?  You’re definitely in the majority!

    @vsan79 - When are you back in LA?

  • tyson moving?  o_o;

  • what a cool xanga item you got there :)
    rubik’s cube is in nowadays. my officemate knows how to solve it in less than 5 minutes. we were all amazed but he said, it’s nothing since there’s a trick there. how about instead of 3 squares per side, you get to solve 5 squares? i saw one today.

  • @Renatojr3 - Tyson once held the world’s record for solving it blindfolded.  Now there’s a 3 year old in the Ukraine who can do it!

    http://weblog.xanga.com/CareyGLY/607028422/i-could-barely-count-at-3.html

  • ah…thanks for enlightening me on her root of paranoia…

    I can’t comment on anything else…cuz I don’t watch reality TV
    except for project runway now and then…because there are some people in my life who are fans…
    It does have its quirks here and there…

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *