July 1, 2008

  • A Kaleidoscope Of Mathematics

    Click below to play the video and be amazed!  If it’s not working, click here. 

    Through Tyson, I’ve been lucky enough to meet a lot of great people in the Cubing community.  None are more talented however, than Macky.  We’ve been trying to get together for some time now, and he was nice enough to head out to the Hotel Careyfornia today before leaving for Math Camp for the summer, and then off to Princeton in the fall.  (He turned down Cambridge and Harvard!)  Over dinner we discussed everything from Game Theory to Phonetics.  You might think that would make for dry dinner conversation, but quite the contrary.  Macky has a unique way of making even the most black and white subjects explode with color.  He makes you think about things in ways you never have.  I always feel so energized after spending time with young people with such drive and intellect.  It give me a hope for a better tomorrow in this country.  Thanks Macky!  I’m looking forward to watching the next few years unfold. 


    He was even nice enough to sign a cube for Daniel with his record solve time of 12.11 seconds.



    ON THE
    LIGHTER SIDE

    “Starting Tuesday, if you’re caught talking on
    the phone without a hands-free device [in California], you get hit with a $20
    fine. That’s almost an eighth of a tank of gas!” — Comedian Jimmy Kimmel

Comments (25)

  • Awesome. My cube is getting sticky with all the stickers coming off.

  • ah…the promise of youth….such a beautiful thing.  great job on the vid – even the dog seemed interested in his performance.  my best to him in the future.  peace, Al

  • 12.11 seconds?!!  Damn!!!!!!!!!!!!!  The video is awesome! 

  • who knew there was a cubing community!

  • math? nosebleed! lol! 

  • I can’t even juggle 2 apples in one hand.  I hope he does well in school.  

  • that was an amazing video!

  • so very talented. thanks for your effort in putting that tog for us. and for the “lighter side of the news” :)

  • Thanks again for last night. I really enjoyed it.

    Interesting stats I couldn’t remember last night:
    “Shannon also observed that when longer sequences, such as paragraphs, chapters, and whole books, are considered, the entropy decreases and English becomes even more predictable. He considered longer sequences and concluded that the entropy of English is approximately one bit per character. This indicates that in longer text nearly all of the message can be guessed from just a 20- to 25-percent random sample.” (from Britannica)
    That means English has over 75% redundancy!

  • Thanks Carey and Macky! You really took my comment on GTalk seriously, lol. I guess you get to manage my career now.

  • @kim85 - Time for some cube lube!
    @pukemeister - Yes, the dogs were transmongrelfied
    @Dezinerdreams - Yep, if you look at some of the Related Videos on YouTube, you’ll be amazed!  http://youtube.com/watch?v=X4hNkQu8mSM
    @qccan - You learn something new every day!
    @Renatojr3 - Trust me, it can be fun.  If you know algorithms, you can even juggle dogs!
    @ElusiveWords - Trust me, not only can I not juggle, I couldn’t catch an apple if you threw one to me!
    @MaximMan - Thanks for the rec!
    @razzlebash - My pleasure!
    @e2718281828 - Thanks Macky, I had fun too.  And, in light of this new data, I’m going to try to finish War & Peace before dinner!
    @pxlspy01 - Daniel, if I could manage yours, and Macky’s and Tyson’s career, I’m quite sure I could be a very rich man!! 

  • hah! very cool wood plank

  • That was unbelievable. Love the song selection too.

  • holy crap, that’s awesome

  • @CaKaLusa - Thanks Chris.  My Dad made it…kind of as a joke…that’s come true.
    @Sungball - Thanks a lot.  Hey, I think you may have accidentally blocked me.  I can’t get to your site.  Haven’t been able to for a while.  Let me know.
    @k_gsu_28 - I wish I could take the credit!  Thanks

  • I love the movie “A Beautiful Mind”. 

  • Holy cow. I’ve never tried a Rubik’s cube before, but I imagine the feat documented in your video takes a tremendous amount of mental acuity and some physical dexterity, as well.

    ryc: Thank you for the kind words. I can’t quite imagine what “vividly spectacular” means, and think you meant to say “spectacularly vivid.” Hehe.

  • @yello_lego - LOL, I guess I was flustered.  Of course, you’re right

  • amazing. you meet the coolest people!

  • @JonasApproved - I can’t argue with that Jonas!  Thanks!!

  • wow that is mad!

  • Hey, thanks! 3 more days!! I’m so excited!

    And it seems like you had an awesome day with Macky. ;D

  • @pichu826 - Thanks!  Don’t forget to blog while you’re there!

  • That’s mad skills.

  • @Sungball - Hey, if you get this message, can you unblock me?  I can’t get to your Xanga unless I’m signed out (and therefore I can’t leave a comment or message).  Thanks!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *