October 31, 2008

  • All Hallow’s Thanks

    First of all, I would like to thank everyone who took the time to read and comment on my last post.  It’s really nice to know that Oreo’s story touched so many people.  He was larger than life, and it’s amazing to think that more than 10 years after his death, he can still affect people in such a profound way.

    Thanks to all of you, this is my most commented post ever.  103 as of this writing.  (My American Idol Finale  post, still holds the record for most views, at 3,252.)  A special shout out to Victor & Sam, who first recommended Oreo’s story to their vast audience.  I tried to respond to everyone, but if I missed you, I’m sorry.

    Mostly though, I’d like to thank Jin, from whom I received the following email:

      Gmail Carey Anthony

    To Oreo and Oreo’s father, Carey.


    From: Jin Thu, Oct 30, 2008 at 1:37 AM
    To: Carey


    I’m really touched by the tribute you made to Oreo. I’m sorry I didn’t get to comment earlier and beat out 120938120938109238 people from commenting but I’m just absolutely amazed at such a wonderful life you have given Oreo and the freedom he has. He does posses human like things about him. He’s still alive believe it or not. In your heart and mind. Remember rainbow bridge? Rusty and Oreo would probably be playing there along with my pet Dusty. They’ll be waiting there for us :)

    I made this for you and oreo ( as you can see its totally ugly compared to the super fancy drawings your friend Dan draws of Oreo, but hey this is for Oreo. )

    Cheers! You’re an amazing person Carey!

     

    This brought tears to my eyes, which I guess is fair, judging from how many people told me they cried at Oreo’s story.  Thank you Jin.  This means a lot to me.  I will treasure it.

    Since Halloween officially starts in 15 minutes, I braved the crazy Halloween store tonight and bought the final touches for my costume.  The place was a ZOO!!!

     

    You’ll have to wait to see what it is.  I’ll give you a hint.  It has something to do with politics and it’s not human.  Any guesses??

    Speaking of Halloween (and dogs), last night was dog night at the pumpkin patch, so I took Roscoe, accompanied by Ann, Jorge and little Arielle.  A good time was had by all:

    On the way home, there was a No on Proposition 8 rally on Santa Monica Boulevard:

    Thanks again to everyone!  Happy Halloween!


    Best of the rest…


    An appropriate song at minutes before midnight on Halloween Eve from the album Minutes to Midnight.

Comments (18)

  • Aww Oreo will be missed!  Last minute things always get packed esp at a Halloween store. I hope you have a fun day tomorrow with your boys :) HAPPY HALLOWEEN! :D

  • wow you’re so close to me lol.  i recognize that halloween store :P  yea. Oreo will be missed by people around the world. 

  • @aliceandrandy - Happy Halloween to you and Randy too!
    @eyesochinky - I actually live in West Hollywood, but I was having dinner with my aunt and uncle tonight in Anaheim, and stopped at that store on the way home   Happy Halloween.

  • @CareyGLY - I’ll be in West hollywood for the block party (:

  • @aliceandrandy - We will be too.  It’s just at the bottom of my street.  Hope to see you.  What will you be dressed as?

  • @CareyGLY - lucky your so close! I have to get there early for parking :( I’m going to be a fairy :)

  • Heh OMG *shy* O_O”

    But anyways have a good halloween! And what was your costume anyway? I know, you went as BUSH!! SARAH PALIN? Wait.. MCCAIN? Heh

    Btw why does the Rotwillier have a muzzle around his mouth? :( Nontheless, he is so cute!

    But have a great halloween! BOOOOOOOOOO!

  • @Loltothepower - Nope, I’m not going as a person…I’ll tell you in an IM if you’re online.  It’s not a muzzle on Roscoe’s face, that just the kind of harness they have for him.  Happy Halloween to you too!

  • Your dog looks like a gentle giant :)

  • damn, i don’t get that many views in a year! – lol  but then again, most of my writing isn’t that good or interesting.  looks like a fun night!  peace, Al

  • @Desert_Eagle_AE - He belongs to a friend, but yes, he is a gentle giant.  Thanks :)
    @pukemeister - Don’t sell yourself so short!  Happy Halloween.

  • I loved the story of oreo, brought tears to my eyes!

    I hope someone offers you a book deal, Oreo’s story is one I would want to read to my children at bedtime. A brave dog, lover of children overcomes obstacles and becomes the most beloved and famous dog in the land. sounds perfect! could be a whole series, oreo visits the white house, oreo at recess, oreo, and the great chase, oreo visits the country. oreo meets rusty, oreo gets lost in the big city, oreo plays baseball….sounds awesome, I hope you think about it. I dont know what you do for a living but even if you just printed them yourself and sold them off a website. I know I would buy them. in addition since clifford has ended, PBS could use a new hero in dog form, I cant think of any dog more deserving, and to be able to tell my children that Oreo was a real life dog, and he really did go on amazing adventures, how wonderful that would be!

  • @beautifulfreedom - Wow, you make a great sales pitch.  I’ll definitely consider that.  Thanks for reading and for the kind words.  Happy Halloween.

  • Gosh Carey, how touching. I sat here and balled my eyes out reading
    your posts about Oreo. Although I never met him, I remember the days
    when he was alive and living the life. I remember when you went to
    Warner Bros lot to the Friends stage and placed that photo on the frig
    on the set. I remember when you got off the plane and shared that you
    flew with Meg Ryan. It all seems like it was just yesterday. What is
    most touching about ALL of this is that my Misha, will be the ripe age
    of twelve next July. About a year ago I had gone through a grieving
    process knowing our time together was limited. Luckily, the old gal is
    healthier today that she was just one and two years ago. She is a
    symbol of all the struggles that we have endured over the last eleven
    years. She is the one that has unconditionally been there with me
    through it all. She was that mangy mutt I rescued from the evil street
    of East Los Angeles, the one I was going to find a home for.  She has
    survived breast cancer and the many changes my life has gone through.
    Just last week I had to have two of her teeth removed because they were
    so decayed. She’s still a peppy ole gal at her ripe age. She tries to
    keep up with Ella, the eight month old Jack Russell that Derek and I
    got together. She still gallops after birds, cats and squirrels even
    though she stands no chance with her slower speed to capture them. She
    still is the most beautiful, calm, and accepting dog I have known. She
    spends much of her days sleeping on her bed. I cherish each day we have
    together knowing our time, like everybody’s, is limited. Your
    reflection on Oreo really cemented the inevitable and makes me be in
    the present moment of what Misha and I still have. We still have each
    other. We still have our health.  We still have unknown days, nights
    and special moments to share and memories to make so that one day, my
    recollection of our life together will be as endearing, meaningful, and
    vivid as yours with Oreo. Thank you for sharing what you have and
    helping me realize the power of the present moment. Much love, Charles

  • @Charles - Awww! Misha. Give her a big kiss for me. I still have a brush whose plastic handle she chewed when she was little. God love her! xoxo

  • thanx, you too!

    looks like the halloween festivities are alive and good at your part of the world too!

  • Happy Halloween. those photos of the hay and palm trees in the background were cool. i’ve never seen the 2 together.
    and  you were very brave to be so close to that cute child thoroughly enjoying his messy delight.

  • @razzlebash - Thanks.  Trust me though, that was a carefully staged photo! 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *