December 2, 2008

  • Cyber Reunions and Fairy Tales

    Every once in a while I’ll go in to Facebook’s Classmate Search and type the name of my high school and college to see who pops up.  The fact that I graduated from high school in 1983 used to make me the oldest living human on Facebook, but no more.  Yesterday, I found several old friends, some I thought I would never see or hear from again!

     

    Some of the messages we exchanged really made me smile.  The fact that my name came up at Thanksgiving 25 years after high school was a delightful surprise.  I didn’t have a whole lot of friends back then and it wasn’t the happiest time of my life.  These people don’t know how much their friendship meant to me during some very dark days.  It reminded me of this situation with another old high school aquaintance last year.  It just goes to show that you should always treat people nicely and with respect.  You may never know how much it means to them.


    Our long holiday weekend was capped off with a third movie, Australia (good, but too long).  I paid a visit to Hannah for story time and also dropped by to see Arielle who was unusally happy to see me!  Another pretty sunset ended the Thanksgiving weekend.  Have a great week everyone!

     

Comments (16)

  • how splendid to meet up with some friends from the past.
    the little girl is cute. the sunsets are beautiful too.
    and we should treat people right as much as possible. you never know what they may be going through.

  • Yeah, its true, a small kind gesture may means a lot to another person.

  • Yep! I agree, even the smallest gestures can mean the whole world to someone else.   Beautiful pics!

  • you’ve just inspired me to look through my high school in facebook. i’m going to do it right now.

  • awww… the messages from your high school friends are so sweet. I have a lot of random people from my facebook from school. I dont even talk to them. lol

    Nice pics. :D I want to see the movie Australia. =p

  • i should try that although, like you, HS wasn’t my favorite time of life either – and from an age stand point, you’re still just a kid! – lol.  peace, Al

  • Stunning pictures as usual! Oh but you’re so lucky to even get ocnnected to your high school classmate! I don’t think any of my classmates here want to like remember me after high school :P But ROCK ON CAREY! *head bangs*

  • Great post.  I’ve reconnected with a number of people from my past as well.  Facebook is pretty amazing that way.  Love the pictures, of course :)

  • mesmerizing pictures of your cousins? neices ? dogs, and the panorama of the Hollywood vistas. How wonderful that you were able to locate your school friends. I have been searching for a pen pal of mine ( swedish ), for many years. But i wouldn’t dare get on the Facebook. If you thought you were considered old there, can you imagine the welcome I would get? I will probably be booted right off the pages.

    Few small words of kindness go a long way to make a heart feel light and loved. I am so glad you wrote this post. Thank you.  I am enjoying seening you on my pages also… tremendously.

  • @razzlebash - Well said!
    @Desert_Eagle_AE - I agree
    @Dezinerdreams - Thanks kiddo.
    @JonasApproved - Good luck!
    @Got_Takoyaki - It’s a good movie…I just wish it was about 45 minutes shorter!
    @pukemeister - Well first you have to join Facebook!
    @Loltothepower - Yeah, that’s what I used to think, but that’s the whole point….25 years from now, they won’t be petty, cruel teenagers, and they’ll remember you as the awesome person you are!!
    @sethrocker - Your daughter and dogs are the reason the pics are so good!
    @ZSA_MD - Actually, the kids are just friends.  Do you think your Swedish friend is on Facebook?  I can search if you want.  Thanks for the kids words!!

  • ERASURE! This song always reminds me of Scrubs.  Dr. Wen loves this song with a passion and it drives Turk nuts because he can’t get it out of his head haha.

    Lovely pictures :)

    And yesss..Facebook got me in touch with people from my childhood as well.  Now I’m only 22, so I sound a little silly saying that..but considering all the times I’ve moved, I was psyched out when I remembered who these people were..and touched that they actually remembered me.  It’s a great feeling.

  • @CareyGLY - i’m there! – just don’t use it much

  • U always have this connection with kids…. (including me hahaha, but I’m a naughty kid  ) … how do u do it?
    I love that pink sky picture with the hollywood sign…. i wanna go back to careyfornia hotel … the best host ever!

  • @torontobabyblue - Wow!  I haven’t watched Scrubs in a couple of years.  I used to love it though.  That’s hilarious though!  Thanks!
    @Paul - You’re always welcome at the Hotel Careyfornia baby.  You’ve got a standing reservation!

  • @tugmyheartstrings - Thanks!  They love the camera

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *