October 2, 2009

  • Oh Brother, Where Art Thou?


    In August, less than 2 months before he died, my Uncle George visited his hometown of Iron Mountain, Michigan and went fishing with his brother.  To say my uncle loved to fish was an understatement.  I think the only thing he loved more, was his wife, his grandkids and his brother!  Despite a cold rain that day, my 81 year old uncle and his brother hiked more than 100 yards through the woods, carrying a heavy canoe to a secret fishing hole.  They had quite an adventure that day, and his brother wrote a story about it that was published in the local paper:

    Oh, brother, can we fish …

    By JIM SNOWDON, for The Daily News
    POSTED: August 1, 2009

    IRON MOUNTAIN – It was tough, but the end reward was worth it all.

    Let’s just say our fishing trip seemed doomed from the start. It was a bright shining day when I picked up my brother George. Then things started to go a little bad.

    While in the truck, we noted we both forgot sunglasses – number one mistake. We picked up the canoe at the camp and drove a few miles to a lake in the Republic area.

    Then, two senior citizens still had to carry the canoe 100 yards through the woods to the lake. Got to the lake, ready to launch the canoe. We soon discovered that the paddles, life jackets, and fishing poles were back at camp.

    Back to camp we go and we were back to square one.

    Once again, back at the lake, ready to go. Then the minnow bucket tipped – minnows all over the ground. Hand-picked them up (a few even lived); now we are on our way.

    While pushing the canoe out, we sank in mud up to our knees. Two seniors stuck in mud. But we got out and soon were floating across the lake. We paddled quite a ways and got set to put a dead minnow on the hook.

    One hour into fishing and not a bite. We figured it was the minnows’ fault. We would not give up just yet.

    Brother George decided to have a sandwich, took a couple bites and it fell out of his hand into the bottom of a slightly wet canoe. It seems things were getting worse.

    But then the perch started biting.

    In five minutes we had three 12-inch perch on the stringer.

    Somehow, stinger and all fell out of hand overboard. All perch were gone.

    Now for sure he was ready to call it quits. I talked him into staying because the fish were starting to bite.

    Bottom line, 30 jumbo perch (10 to 13 inches) in a couple hours of fishing. We were happy and finally did call it quits for the day.

    Getting the canoe back out of the woods to the truck was harder than getting in. Somehow that canoe got at least 100 pounds heavier.

    I should mention on the way out I lost my pocket knife and Brother got poked in the eye with a tree branch and we crushed the minnow bucket.

    We were glad to get back to camp in one piece.

    But the doomed trip turned out to be a great success. We will both remember it for a long time and George now has a fishing story to tell when he gets back to California.

    I’m sure it was the highlight of his vacation.


    I’m staying with my aunt this week, and obviously there are reminders of Uncle George everywhere.  I smell his cologne in the bathroom when I shower.  I’m sleeping on his pillow, which I find comforting.  Tomorrow, friends and family will gather to celebrate his memory.  We’ve been trying to keep this week as normal as possible for the kids.  Last night we made caramel apples which they loved:


    Tressa, Andy, Dar & Tommy




    Great Grandma (Aunty LuLu) with kids




    Andy likes taffy apples!



       
    Oh Brother let’s go down…down to the lake and fish


    Obviously I can’t be with Chazz on his “special day”, so Ryan just texted me this picture of his first birthday cake:





Comments (17)

  • awesome fishing adventure. i enjoyed that article. chazz is adorable what kind of breed is it?

  • @LuxteK - Thanks!  He’s Boxer and Ridgeback.  He’s a cutie pie!

  • well as i said last night, i’m sure your uncle is keeping an eye on that fishing hole now and perhaps next spring you and your remaining uncle should join together with andy and tommy and visit that old favorite fishing hole and spend the day with him once again doing what he liked to do.  your uncle finished his time here with a good fishing trip and surrounded by a loving family – no one can ask for a better way to leave these parts for whatever our next adventure is.  when we bury our loved ones, we erect memorials to them but the best memorials we leave behind are the memories we give to those we love – he’s built a beautiful memorial in your heart and i suspect you will do the same for those you leave behind when your time comes.  Peace and Love to you and your family and my your uncle rest in peace.  Al

  • I’ve read that article several times in the past 2 months & every time it puts a huge smile on my face because I can just picture Grandpa & Uncle Jimmy swearing up a storm but, secretly loving every minute of it.  Al, your comments above were very nice & brought tears to my eyes.  I hope my kids enjoy fishing as much as grandpa did because I would LOVE to take them up there next summer & have Uncle Jimmy teach them a thing or two.  Carey, thanks for watching the kids the other night & trying to keep things “normal”.  Oh, and when you find out what “normal” is, let me know!  LOL!  

  • looks like a lot of fun. awesome pictures once again!

  • Your uncle George had such a storied life indeed! And you’re being such a good nephew and keeping your aunt company! BTW, Chazz is such a lucky dog, getting to eat his cake too!

  • That was nice!   :)   I was also surprised (in a good way) by your story on your uncle. I tend to avoid these things, but ended up reading the story, looking at the pictures, and appreciating your tribute. I guess you are even better when you are not bitching at corporate America.  :)) Your uncle would have been proud of how you told his last story. 

  • mmm, caramel apples

  • It’s great you are still enjoying the little things, Carey. Tell Chazz I said, “Happy Birthday!” and I owe him a cubing lesson :) Also… now I want caramel apples.

  • omg, i want candied apples now!!!!!!!

  • aww… the kids with the candy apples makes me smile :) which reminds me… granny smith festival is coming up. happy birthday to chazz!! :D

  • That’s a great fishing story.   I hope the kids and your aunt are doing ok.  

  • @pukemeister - What a nice message.  Thank you!

    @wittielisa - Thanks Lis.  I sure wish I had video of the tow of them traipsing through the woods with that canoe in the rain!  I could have set it to some Beyonce music or something!
    @Shades_of_Athena - Thanks so much!
    @CurryPuffy - They told me Chazz threw up the next day
    @Claudio - That means a lot coming from you.  Thanks. Beijos.
    @mr_faust - They were sticky but tasty!
    @pxlspy01 - Thanks CJ!  Chazz has been asking about his next cubing lesson! Woof!
    @CaKaLusa - Come and get them big boy.@Got_Takoyaki - Candied Apple Festival?  I want to go!
    @ElusiveWords - Thank you for your concern Matt.  We’re doing OK.  

  • I used to fish with my dad and grandpa, but those days are gone now. happy birthday to Chazz the wonderdog!

  • @reckless_eagle - Awwww…thanks Victor.  I used to fish with my Dad too…but those days are gone as well.

    http://x24.xanga.com/82f8573243138255206500/w202920962.jpg

  • pls give chazz a big b-day hug for me.  may be gets more adorable each day :)

  • @rudyhou - Thanks Rudy!  Will do :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *