March 29, 2010

  • Look Ma, No Photoshop!

    We had a great weekend in the San Francisco Bay area.  Bassam, Bine and I drove up Friday, and arrived at Tom & Cathy’s oceanfront home just as the party was getting started.  Youenn flew in from Boston and Mariana graced us with her presence all weekend.  Risa & Luis invited us to a most amazing brunch in the Castro on Sunday; and with our stomachs full and our hearts happy, Bassam and I drove back to Santa Barbara.  Bine flew back to Germany last night, but she’ll be back in LA in May.  It was a whirlwind 9 days with little sleep, but our GLY Gang had a great reunion, as the photos will attest.  Speaking of photos, have you seen the new “Content Aware” feature of the new Photoshop?  Watch the video on the left first, and prepare to be amazed.  The video on the right takes it to a whole other level.  I actually don’t use or know how to use Photoshop.  If I did, I would probably never leave the computer.  I use Picasa to edit my photos.  I typically crop them and remove the red eyes.  Sometimes I’ll saturate them, but lately since I got my new camera, I haven’t had to.  I do sometimes use the graduated tint filter if the sky is too bright, and I will occasionally warmify flesh tones.  That’s about the extent of my editing capabilities.  Nothing like this:

        
    Photoshop’s new “Content Aware” and “Clean my room and make me a sandwich” features

    Saturday morning, Patrick and I had a treasure hunt.  Take a look at the video:

    Click play to watch Patrick find oceanside treasures

    Here are a few of the weekend photos.  I’ll be in New York later this week and may have some exciting news on Thursday.  Keep your fingers crossed  for me and stay tuned!


    Another beautiful sunset from Tom & Cathy’s back yard


    Playing a new form of tag with Patrick


    Body by Patrick


    Self portrait at 2 AM in the back yard


    4 hours later, we were up


    And breakfast was served


    Mariana playing with the kids


    Seaside rock collecting


    Buddies


    Sun roof photo while heading to brunch in San Francisco, approaching Dolores Park


    The brunch menu included:  Jalapeno Avocado Soup, Torta Rustica, Shrimp Etouffe, Arroz con Pollo, Pan Perdue & Strawberry Rhubarb Tart!


    The Mission in Santa Barbara


    Photo fun with Patrick.  Click for more…


    Best of the rest…

Comments (18)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *