June 4, 2010

  • The Gandhi of Dogs


    Today would have been my dog Oreo’s 25th birthday, so I’m reposting this.  His biography rivals that of some people, but I think it’s a fitting tribute to a faithful companion. 

    Oreo was born on June 4, 1985 (the same day the Oreo cookie was invented in 1912) on a farm in Mattoon, Illinois.  He was an adorable puppy, mischievous, and ornery from the beginning, with a true mind of his own (just like his master!).

    I originally agreed to “watch” Oreo for a boy in my neighborhood who picked him up from a farmer during a summer job.  The boy’s grandmother said he could not keep the puppy, so I said he could stay at our house in Charleston, IL, (where I went to college, Eastern Illinois University) until a suitable home was found.  Needless to say, from that day forward, July 13, 1985, Oreo belonged to me.

    My friend Meg Slattery actually named Oreo.  When he was a puppy, he was all black, with white in the middle.  When she suggested Oreo, I knew it was the perfect name.  (Other names on the “short” list were: Thor, Bosco, and Ranger.)  The vet suspected Oreo was a mix of German Shepherd, Sheepdog, Wolfhound, and Wire Terrier.  A pure mutt!

    From the beginning, Oreo was a unique dog.  That first summer, I would ride my bike to campus, and he would  stick his little head out of my backpack the whole time.  I was only taking one class that summer, so I used to spend hours on campus, training him to wait for me whenever I went inside a building.  It took a whole summer, but he eventually learned how to wait for me for over an hour.  Of course, in the beginning, the slightest thing would distract him, and he would be gone.  He loved squirrels, children, even bugs.  Anything could get his attention.

    I remember that he always walked slightly diagonally.  He could never walk a perfect straight line.  The summer of ’85 was unusually hot in Illinois.  Oreo loved to go to the lake, and jump in the water any chance he got.  I have such fond memories of that year.  When Oreo was about 7 months old, he started wandering the neighborhood on his own.  It was a small  town, and most everyone knew him already.  He was quickly becoming a mascot on campus, and he eventually learned where every grade school in town was located.  He used to know when recess was at each school, and show up to play with the kids.

    The kids of course loved it.  Oreo would go down the slide with them, and use his front paws to push them on the merry go round.  Since I baby-sat for over 50 kids in town, nearly everyone knew him already.  The principals however, weren’t as pleased.  I used to get phone calls all the time, telling me that my dog was at recess again.  This practice continued for many years, even after I graduated and moved to Chicago. When I lived in the suburbs of Chicago, Oreo used to go to three schools within a five mile radius of our house!  He crossed some major roads to get there, but he always looked both ways before he crossed. I worked about 40 miles away at the time.  When the principals of the schools would call me at work (I had my work # on his tags), I would tell them to just wait until recess was over, and he would leave.  Sure enough he did.

    I actually spied on him one day to discover where he went on his travels.  I always put him in our fenced in back yard before leaving for my job at the bank each morning.  One morning I actually drove away, but parked around the corner, and waited to see what Oreo would do.  Sure enough, at about 9:00, he jumped the fence (a little reminiscent of this cute beagle) and started making his rounds.  He went to several schools, and stopped off at several different spots where he was assured to find an open can of cat food, or some tasty garbage to indulge in!

    He also used to play games with the dog-catcher.  He was on their “10 Most Wanted” List for several years, but  he always managed to foil them, and hide, or run back to the house and scratch the door to come inside, just in the nick of time!  He always learned quickly what the dog-catcher’s van looked like, in every city we lived in.

    Oreo is the only dog I know who graduated from college.  During my outdoor graduation ceremony in 1987, Oreo actually saw me cross the stage to receive my diploma.  As he had attended most of my classes with me, he naturally felt he deserved a diploma as well.  He would usually wait outside, but occasionally he would sucker a kind soul to let him in the door (puppy dog eyes), where he would proceed to sniff me out in whatever classroom I was in.  I still sometimes hear the jingle jangle his collar used to make, and remember the sinking feeling of my dog interrupting an important exam, or a complicated business law lecture.  More than a few times, he came “bounding” into a crowded lecture hall, and ran right to me!

    Oreo had such an interesting life.  He went all over the United States with me.  In my last job where I traveled for 13 years, certain customers of mine would ask for him by name.  Hotels that would not usually allow dogs, allowed Oreo.  He used to love the VIP (Very Important Pet) program at the Omni in downtown Chicago.  They would turn down his bed sheets at night, and leave him a minty dog biscuit!

    Perhaps the most famous Oreo adventure occurred in August of 1987.  I had just graduated from college, found a job and finally found a house to rent in the Chicago suburbs that allowed an 85 pound dog, and had fenced-in (all be it “jumpable”) back yard.  Our first night in the house, Oreo pawed the door open at about 4 AM, because there was another dog in the yard.  I heard him trying to get out, but was too sleepy to care.  In the morning, Oreo was gone.  It was a hot Saturday morning, I had not even lived there 24 hours, and my dog was gone!  I was frantic, and drove around the city looking for him. 

    I enlisted kids on the block to ride their bikes up and down all of the streets calling Oreo’s name, but it was no  use, he was gone.  By nightfall, I had a feeling I knew where Oreo was headed.  Home.  Charleston, IL, where I went to college, was 200 miles due south.  Oreo had grown up there.  He went to every class with me and waited outside every building.  It was all he ever knew.

    I went to bed that night with a heavy heart.  The next morning as I sat teary eyed at my mother’s kitchen table reading the paper, I saw it.  There, on the front page of the sports section of the Chicago Tribune, was a picture of Oreo, being shooed off the golf course at the Western Open!  I couldn’t believe my eyes.  The Western Open was being held in Oakbrook, some 45 miles south of our new house.  Oreo was definitely on his way back to Charleston. 

    In the picture, he looked scared and dirty.  My heart went out to him.  Luckily all of his tags still referred to our old address in Charleston.  That morning, I called Animal Control in Charleston, and told them to be expecting Oreo, and gave them all of my vital information.

    What I didn’t know, was shortly after the newspaper picture was taken, a kind hearted woman named Lola Proulx, had bought Oreo 8 hot dogs, and gotten a rope around his neck.  Lola, a true dog lover, with over 9 of her own, took Oreo to the Hinsdale Humane Society, and waited until Monday morning to call down to Charleston and trace his tags.  The Animal Control people in Charleston, gave her my work number, and that Monday morning I received the most triumphant phone call of my life.  “I found your dog”, Lola screamed.  I yelled out in the lobby of the bank “They found my dog”, and the whole office cheered!

    I got Oreo back that afternoon, leaving work early to drive down to retrieve him.  I never saw him happier to see me!  After that, he never strayed far again, though his adventures were never curtailed!  (Ever since that day, he was scared to death of trains and train tracks.  I suspect he nearly got hit by a train on his long journey, and until the day he died, I always went out of my way in the car, to avoid railroad crossings whenever Oreo was with me.)  After making a donation to the Humane Society that day, Oreo and I went home!

    Oreo adapted well to city living.  Everyone loved him.  He became friends with homeless people in downtown Chicago.  He continued playing with children everywhere.  He once had a close call with a herd of huge elk, whose fence he somehow penetrated.  It was a cold winter day, and I wasn’t paying attention to where Oreo was running.  When the herd began to charge him, a crowd of people started screaming.  When it looked as if the end was near (as the leader of the pack with a horn span twice the length of Oreo bowed to jab him with his horns), Oreo found the hole in the fence which he had entered through, and ran to my waiting arms as the crowd cheered!

    When I started a new job in 1990, I moved back down to Charleston to take care of some children who needed my help; Oreo was back in his element.  He loved college life.  Fraternity parties, beer blasts, and of course graduation ceremonies.  Homecoming was always a special time for him, as he renewed old acquaintances, and made new friends.  I can’t tell you how many times I heard strangers on campus say, “Oh that’s Oreo, he’s a campus dog, he doesn’t have an owner.”, or “That’s Oreo, he was at the Sigma Chi party the other night!”.

    He was such a kind dog.  He learned tolerance early on, when I worked at three homes for developmentally disabled adults while I was in college.  He suffered much abuse as a puppy, at the hands of these “big kids” who really didn’t know their own strength.  Oreo never bit anyone, though after a mailman threw a rock at him when he was a year old, he had a lifelong vengeance for the US Postal Service.  (He loved the UPS and FedEx drivers though!)

    In the summer of 1993, Oreo was shot with a 38 caliber revolver, by a disgruntled, miserable campus security officer, with nothing better to do.  It was late at night.  I was visiting a friend on campus, after all the summer classes had left and the school was deserted.  My friend was the only one left in her building, and Oreo was waiting patiently outside for me, with a bowl of water next to him.

    We had had run-ins with “Officer” Hall before.  He never liked Oreo, and always told me to put him on a leash.  I’m proud to say that I never once put Oreo on a leash.  There was no leash law on campus anyway, dogs were allowed to be under voice command.  This particular “officer” once made a fool of himself in front of many people, by trying to “arrest” me for not having Oreo on a leash.  Oreo got the last laugh though, when he ran away as the “rent-a-cop” was trying to catch him.

    That evening, with no one around, “Officer” Hall shot Oreo at point blank range in the chest.  When I came downstairs to check on Oreo, he was gone.  Oreo was NEVER not waiting for me when I came back from someplace, and when I saw the pool of blood on the pavement, my heart sank.  

    My best friend Dan and I, searched for Oreo for hours.  We finally found him, at home, a mile and a half from where he had been shot.  He had CRAWLED all that way, and lost over half his blood.

    Dan and I were in shock.  As Dan drove us to the vet, I cradled Oreo, now almost comatose, in my arms in the back seat.  The vet immediately started an I.V. and performed a blood transfusion.  Miraculously, Oreo lived.  The bullet missed his heart by an inch, and left an exit wound the size of a quarter.  From that day on, Oreo was scared to death of police officers, guns, and fireworks.  The 4th of July was always a horrible time for him, and to this day I think of him, and say in my head, “It’s OK Or..”.

    The response to the “attempted assassination” of Oreo was overwhelming.  Conspiracy theories abounded.  Was the gunman on the grassy knoll?  Was the mob involved? Perhaps a secret Post Office consortium?  A triangular shot pattern?  We may never know.  Dan even wrote a rather dark poem about it:

    Some bastard shot dog Oreo,
    And shot him in the chest.
    Some canine killer put a bullet through old boy,
    Trying to kill one of the best.

    If I should ever find,
    That man, that gun, that beast.
    I’ll chop his bloody head right off,
    And let Oreo have a feast.

    I’ll take an axe to the monster,
    Who tried to murder such a sweet friend.
    And wonder if that keen mutt realized,
    Revenge was taken in the end.

    I do know that I received cards and letters from all over the world!  I (actually Oreo) received my first telegram (from Brazil!), and kids in the neighborhood brought toys and treats at all hours.  The house looked like a hospital room after someone undergoes major surgery!  So many flowers.

    The bank I used to work at sent out a group fax to all 25 branches.  The Internet was not as widely used back then, but postings on a newsgroup alerted people all over the world of Oreo’s hour by hour recovery.

    At a Midwestern Banker’s Conference, Bob, the president of my company was giving a speech about a recent retreat he had been to, where Bill Clinton spoke about banking reform.  Later, in the receiving line several people wanted to know about Oreo’s condition.  “How’s Oreo?  We heard he was shot!” they said.  Our company president who was new, and not familiar with Oreo’s legacy at that time, could only think to himself, “I just met with the President of the United States, and they want to know about OREO??”  We laugh about it to this day, and it’s rumored that Bob’s dog Cody looked up to Oreo!

    I once gave Oreo a “dog IQ” test.  He scored as a genius!  I know a lot of people think their dogs are smart.  But Oreo was so intuitively humanlike it was scary.  When other people were in the room with him, alone, they would talk to him!  It wasn’t just me.  My friend Claudio used to teach Oreo commands in Portuguese, and he learned them!  In the later years when he lived with Dan and Angela when I traveled, he learned to care for the babies.  He knew Angela was going to give birth the night before Mia was born.  He slept by Angela’s side, and he took care of her.  Oreo had many nicknames, Dan used to call him “Bubba” or “Bubba Chops”. I often simply called him “Or”.

    I took him everywhere!  The President of one of the banks I used to work at, loved dogs.  I would take Oreo to work with me every morning, and he would lay outside the bank until the lobby closed.  At 3:00 he would come in and lay under my desk, or wander around to see if he could help in any way.  The tellers actually used to take him in the cash vault with them for “dual control”!  He was the hit of all the picnics and parties, and continued to visit schools at recess until he died.

    When a friend of mine in Los Angeles landed the 2nd Assistant Director job on the television show “Friends”, I was lucky enough to attend a taping in 1994, and meet the cast.  As I carried pictures of Oreo with me wherever I went, one of the crew put a picture of Oreo on the refrigerator on the set, where it remained for the remainder of the second season.  If you paused your VCR at just the right spot, you could make out Oreo’s handsome mug in several scenes!  Of course, after that Oreo wanted an agent, and the whole Hollywood thing started to go to his already swelled head!  Once I flew to from New York to L.A. and sat next to Meg Ryan.  We talked a little, and I showed her pictures of Oreo.  She thought he was a “beautiful dog”.  That too, went to his head! 

      

    His mannerisms were truly unique.  He would cock his head, on cue, with certain words:  “Treat”, “Ride”, “Walk” and his all time favorite “Rusty”.  Rusty was Oreo’s best friend when we were in college.  He belonged to my Finance professor Carol.  I used to baby-sit her kids.  They lived out in the country, and Oreo and Rusty would run through the countryside, and play for hours on end.  Rusty was tragically poisoned after I graduated, but the name “Rusty” always invoked a near 90° tilt of Oreo’s head for the rest of his life.  Other close dog friends that Oreo remembered all his life were Ginger, Cage and Pork Chop.  When you said those names, you could practically see Oreo’s memory at work.  Oreo used to do a trick when he was younger called “Fire”, in which he would literally drag himself across the ground like he was crawling out of a house in a fire.  He would perform this trick on cue, which often invoked quite a laugh when campus preachers were engaged in fire and brimstone speeches on the Quad!  Oreo would also howl hilariously.  Whenever we would howl, he would mimic us exactly.  Thinking of that, still makes me laugh to this day.

    Dan used to invoke a mischievous Pavlovian response from Oreo with the word “Buku”.  He somehow taught Oreo to “hump” whenever he said that word.  Though I did not approve, the simple mention of that word caused endless laughter at many college parties over the years.  Oreo was a master of physical canine comedy!

    Dan also used to do a drawing of Oreo every year for my Christmas cards.  It became an annual tradition that so many people looked forward to during the holidays.  My favorite drawing was the one Dan did the year Oreo was shot.  It shows Santa, going up the chimney, and Oreo sitting by the fireplace, after Santa had just left him a new ACME Bulletproof Vest!

     

    Everyone had unique stories about Oreo.  Some I never knew.  After he died at the ripe old age of 12, Michelle, a  little girl I used to babysit, created a memorial website called Oreonline, while the Internet was still in its infancy.  She did it out of loyalty to a friend she had known since she was two years old.  I received so many hundreds of emails, cards, and letters after Oreo died., and all of them were posted on that first website.

    A strange event occurred exactly a week after Oreo passed away.  After a business trip to Tokyo, I flew to Guam for some quiet reflection.  That day I was on a remote mountain top (more of a hill, really) on the island of Guam, waiting for the sun to set, and taking pictures.  As I climbed the small mountain, I was struck by the calm and serenity of the surrounding countryside.  At the top of the peak was a tree.  As I approached the tree, I saw rainbow colored ribbons adorning the branches, and dried, dead fish attached to the ribbon!?  When I reached the base of the tree, there was a dead fish, with ribbon, and six perfectly placed OREO cookies on the ground!?  These were not imitation cookies, they were Oreos.  What this meant, or means, I to this day have no earthly idea.  I asked local people if they knew of some strange custom.  They had no explanation.

    Suffice it to say, I will never know why I saw those cookies atop that mountain, but it did remind me of a true friend, who was there for me whenever I needed him most.  A friend who taught me love and compassion, discipline and how to care for a living thing, forgiveness and trust.  This was Oreo’s legacy.  He was the Gandhi of dogs.  His inner peace affected all who touched him, and all those he touched.  I have yet to get another dog, though any reader of this blog knows that I have many wonderful dogs in my life.  He can never be replaced, but his memory will live forever.

Comments (149)

  • Haha…u guys loook so so so good back then…i mean your style…*

  • @ayu_motosan - Well, it was the 80′s and 90′s, but only 2 of those pictures have me in them.  The one of me and my friend Joao with Oreo at the White House, and the one of me with Oreo in his Elizabethan collar after he was shot.  The rest of the photos are all of my friends with Oreo. 

  • Let’s toast for that
    Hooray !!

  • Awww… that’s a nice bio of Oreo.  Thanks for sharing. 

  • That was so fun to read the story of Oreo.  You should write a children’s book about the adventures of Oreo!  You already have some good pictures for illustrations too!  I actually cried both happy and sad tears as I read it.  Thank you for sharing! 

  • Finally you wrote about Oreo!!! Truly an amazing dog!

  • beautiful post and a heart warming story – everyone deserves that special pet that can never be replaced, I had mine – his name was Rusty also.  peace, Al

  • a story befitting for for film.

  • @ewisluke - Thanks Lewis!
    @ElusiveWords - Thanks for reading!
    @bowzere - Actually, that’s a great idea.  I’ll make sure to give you credit if I ever write a book!
    @Dezinerdreams - That, he was!
    @pukemeister - Awww.  I always loved dogs named Rusty.  The Far Side helped!
    @owbert - Thanks Albert.  Who knows….,maybe some day!?

  • mmm oreo cookies.

  • A really touching tribute to an amazing dog. He left behind a legacy of love and deserves a place in everyone’s heart.

  • A highly recommended entry to read and share with friends.

  • @ibizajb - you’ll never eat an Oreo the same way Joon.
    @reckless_eagle - Such kind words.  Thank you!!

  • Carey,

    This is such a touching tribute. I will share with Dan–that day will be in my memory forever but Oreo was so forgiving. Wiser than we.

    And look at you, still with the converse and I like the vest…what a good looking guy!

  • @schoolpsychologist67 - Thanks Angela.  Give the urn a pat for me xoxo

  • Aww Carey!! That story of Oreo’s life brought back SO many memories and made me cry…not as hard as I did when he left us..but he was the most amazing dog I ever met! I wish I hadn’t let Oreonline fall by the wayside when Geocities collapsed : but I’d be more than willing to start another one. Just say the word. I promise it won’t be loud primary colors this time !!!

    Love you! (and Oreo always!)

    -Michelle “Beechies” Johnson

  • That was the most amazing story I have ever heard. Thank you for sharing Oreo with us all….reminds us to be thankful each and every day for the “friends” we have in our life…furry or not!   GLY!!

  • @lv2skrp - Thanks Michele.  I’m glad you enjoyed it! xo

  • quite fascinating and more eventful than some people’s lives. i still think it would make a great movie.  and he went to the different playgrounds to meet the kids. remarkable.  what a treasure of a dog.

  • After reading this amazing tribute to such an incredible dog, I feel a bit saddened for having never gotten to meet Oreo. He had such a rich and wonderful existence, and I didn’t want it to end. Thank you so much for sharing this.  

  • Oreo! Not just the best cookie out there, but the best dog, too. Sam was right, totally worth reading the entire thing.

  • Oh Carey, it’s just so beautiful and evocative. You are such a magnificent communicator. You make it look so easy. You brought him back, all of it, and he was so central. That time in my life. Oreo played such an integral role, and it’s only just now that I realize how many of my feelings and memories from that time are anchored by him. I just told Mike the Rick Orr tales et al. The hatchback, the party crashing, even Matthew crying as he mowed the lawn, sipping lemonade from the “deck” above the porch. (Sue me, I embellished). Tasha is brilliant, but I must admit Oreo was the smartest canine I’ve ever known, and I come from a long line of dog people. God, baby, I miss him so. The dog catcher. The neighbors. I’m inspired. It’s time. Merry Christmas. Yes, I mean it. xoM

  • That dog’s flippin’ amazing. Such a nice entry Carey.

  • this is epic…  maybe break it down into a four part mini series perhaps… with tiny bite sized chunks of sentences that my puny mind doesn’t get bogged down in..

    Should have called him benji perhaps

    I’ve always thought that the reason man has a “best friend” called dog,  is perhaps a little more to do with how we survived here on earth eons in the past.  They’re smart

  • Thank you so much for sharing Oreo’s story with us :)
    I know that he touched the hearts of so many people who felt blessed to know him.

  • What a beautiful story. I wish I could have met Oreo.

  • A Wonderful Dog!

  • God, I am a heartless bastard so this should mean extra coming from me – but really, Oreo’s story is impossibly touching. I just want to thank you for sharing that story.

  • aww this is such an amazing tribute for an amazing dog. 

  • a loyal dog indeed.

  • Holy moly!!! I graduated from EIU in 2003!!!! And I know people from Schaumberg! Crazy!

    Super sweet story about your dog.

  • Everyone needs to read this feel good, if somewhat sad story!

    Michael

  • THAT WAS BEAUTIFUL<3

  • @wherethefishlives - Thanks for sending me here.

    My dogs were the best and I miss them and tell their stories as they were truly part of my life. Thanks for sharing your story.

  • Wow amazing Story as well as an amazing dog friend.

  • This makes me miss my dog terribly.

    I feel like Oreo was a part of my life after reading this. Beautiful story!

  • a very cool entry that i’m sure you spent a lot of time writing about your dog, friend, best friend. I’m sure there’s plenty of other stories you’ve left out!

    :)

  • i didn’t read a word of this post, but just the fact that it is this long and the way it is titled i can tell it has to be a really awesome dog. woof!

  • aww. i hate that guy who shot oreo. i almost cried, thinking his end was there and then.

  • Such a beautiful story! He was a lucky dog! Thanks for sharing!

  • This made me laugh, cry, and the part about the cookies on the mountain gave me goosebumps, and I’m not an animal person.  At all.  Simply amazing!  Thanks for sharing!  I wish I could have known him.

  • Oreo is one amazing dog. Thank you for sharing this.

  • great pics!

  • wow. what an amazing story :)

  • Thank you so much for sharing!! What a wonderful dog =)

  • Thanks a lot in sharing this. Very beautiful and soul-touching.

  • what a beautiful story. Thank you for sharing!

  • @razzlebash - He was indeed a treasure.  Thanks!
    @wherethefishlives - Wow, you really have connections.  One recommendation from you and my comments go through the roof!  Thanks
    @Mamabee00 - Thanks for reading the whole long story
    @mdrezz - LMAO Marc.  Oreo loved you like the bad uncle you were…spoiling him rotten and letting him get away with too much.  GLY xo
    @TpC_ReiO - Thanks, he was pretty cool!
    @OwenHiggins - LOL, sorry for the length.  There’s much more to tell.  Thanks for stopping by
    @CanadianConspiracy - He did indeed.  Thanks for visiting!
    @trebleclef402 - Thanks.  He died before most of the people who are commenting were born!  I’m glad to be able to tell his story here.
    @storyslut - That, he was.  Thanks.
    @Xx_DeUce_xX - You’re hardly heartless, but thanks, that means a lot!
    @maebemaebenot - I appreciate the kind words.
    @elelkewljay - Loyal, but with a mind of his own
    @casmarie - Nice to meet a fellow EIU alum.  Oreo was famous on the library quad, and was on the front page of the Eastern Daily News several times in the 80′s!
    @ETCACTOR - He had a great life, so no regrets!
    @JiHyUnEe_xP - I’m glad you liked it. Thanks.
    @Jaynebug - I’m sure your dogs are chasing squirrels somewhere with Oreo
    @pinky93085 - Much obliged!
    @beachblondie711 - Like Princess Diana, he belonged to the people!  LOL   Thanks!
    @CaKaLusa - Thanks Chris.  When you come here, I can share many more.
    @mooks_dayoo - LOL, woof back atch!
    @queenofstyrofoamhearts - Thanks…he was certainly a trooper (unlike the rent a cop who shot him!).  Actually, I didn’t write about this, but that campus cop’s wife died of cancer a few years later, and he lost his job.  Karma.
    @iStephanieMarie - Thanks.  I was the lucky one!
    @Hathaway_Lane - It’s nice to know that this story appeals even to people who aren’t dog people.  Thanks!
    @moonlitstar0 - Thank you for reading!
    @thegreatchristopher - An eruption of awesome!?  Wow, thanks
    @emmalee1508 - I appreciate the kind words.
    @laurenvw - You’re quite welcome.  Thank you.
    @nimussa - I’m happy it touched your soul.
    @Mad_Bride - Many thanks!

  • This is truely a wonderful story, and a wonderful dog.  It makes my chest tighten to think of the bond the two of you had.  Thank you for this post, I’m glad I had the chance to read it.

  • thats a really sweet story… i wish i could’ve met him!

  • This is such a sweet story.  Oreo is truly an extraordinary dog.  Dogs are such wonderful creatures :)

  • How blessed you were to have such a wonderful dog like Oreo.Thanks for telling his story ,I’ve enjoyed it. 

  • @CareyGLY - I just would like to comment on you taking the time to respond to everybody’s comments on your post… even when the volume is through the roof.

    THAT in my opinion is a characteristic of a blogger worth commenting! :)

  • Such an amazing dog you had.
    Thank you for sharing this story with us, it’s so heartwarming and inspirational.

  • That was very touching, thank you. I love my dog, and I would hate for anything to happen to her.

  • That is such an amazing story! Thank you for sharing because it really made my day as a dog lover. I bet my shih tzu’s would have loved Oreo if they ever had the pleasure of meeting him.

  • @Giraffney - I’m glad you had the chance too.  Thank you.
    @racheek - Thanks…he was one of a kind!
    @Desert_Eagle_AE - I agree, dogs rock!  Thanks!!
    @seedsower - Thanks for the kind sentiments.
    @beachblondie711 - What
    a nice thing to say, thank you.  But if people can honestly take the
    time to read such a long story about a stranger’s dog, it’s the least I
    can do to try to thank them individually.  So again, thank you.
    @niez_cho - I’m glad to hear that it was inspirational.  You’re welcome.
    @LaughingMonkey89 - I love the Rafiki icon!  I’m sure you’re dog is a treasure.  Take good care of her!
    @waking_up_older - Thanks!  Oreo actually had a lot of shih tzu’s in his life.  He loved them all

  • Dog is human best friend

  • Awww. I hope I have a friend like that someday. 

  • Thanks to Vic for recommending this,  I was so moved.  I am reminded of my own dogs that I’ve loved and lost.  Thank you so much for sharing your story.

  • @elittlebear - I couldn’t agree more!
    @dragonflyshine - I hope so too!
    @thinfriendxxo - Glad to bring back good memories for you.  Thanks too to Vic.

  • Nicely put.. Oreo is quite a star, I imagine.. :)

  • post of personal experiences are my favorite.  this is a great one.

  • Very moving, thanks for sharing.

  • such an amazing story…I wish i had the privileged to have met him…but after reading this story I think I know the type of dog he is….he will be greatly missed.

  • Wow, that was a really moving story! I wish i could have one like him! Amazing dog mate. Thanks for sharing.

  • =) dogs are absolutely wonderful. It sounds like not only was he a fantastic dog, but he had a fantastic owner. Thanks for sharing this truly incredibly story. 

  • That is truly an amazing story.  Makes me love my pup even more!  Dogs are incredible creatures.

  • @wherethefishlives - true to that

    great post!

  • @anamika_b - Thanks, he was pretty special!
    @curtainsopen - Much obliged!
    @altrockbands - You’re welcome.  Thank you!
    @BrklynGurl - Indeed he will. Thanks!  Go Obama!
    @ccRowp - Thanks for reading!
    @YossariansWingman - What a nice thing to say.  Thank you very much.
    @elfincracker - Your dog looks pretty cute as well!
    @bluedreamer85 - Muchas gracias!!

  • that’s an awesome story.

  • Beautiful story. Reminds me of the book I read.. well, series, Santa Paws. A famous dog in his town in Oceanport(fictional though. But he was a mix of German Shephard and I think Collie)… haha. Loved those books. Especially the book where he was kidnapped and was trying to find his way home before Christmas. Which brings in the part where Oreo got lost and was headed for Charleston.. and the golf court too! Yes, Santa Paws camped there though, he didn’t get shooed away lol. Anyways, you had a great dog there, and I hope to one day own a dog just like Oreo. ^_^

  • aww u and ur puppy look so adorable…

  • this post made me cry, glad to know that man’s best friends have their deserved tributes. now i really miss my 2 dogs and wish i could be with them!
    xx

  • @hiems - Thanks George!
    @xMistyStarzLitex - Wow, that book series sounds awesome.  I’ll have to check it out.  Thanks!
    @Sc12EeN17aM3 - Thanks Jad.  I finally decided on a Halloween costume.  Did you need to park here?
    @FrosteChic - I’m sure they miss you too.  Hope you get to see them soon.

  • @CareyGLY - i’ll only get to see them when i get back in december. thats a long way down and its also the same month my previous dog passed on. he was a right old fella, and we had to pass him on to the big kennel in the sky because we couldn’t bear to see him suffer with arthiritis and pressure sores. but in his hey day, he was one smart, gentle and caring dog, nice to see that there are others around who appreciate the finer little things in life – the lives of the ones we truly love (:

  • @FrosteChic - Maybe he’s somewhere chasing squirrels with Oreo   Peace!
    @Pnoiz1 - THANKS!!

  • OREO!!! :))))

  • Aw, I love your dog. You could make this into a book, really.

  • wow….i have tears in my eyes….what an amazing companion–human or canine!

  • wow, what a life. i wish my life was half as interesting. hehe 

  • awwww this was beautiful :o) 

  • Among the many diverse and amazing stories on the famous blog, it’s (at last) surprisingly easy to pick the one that tops them all. God Love Him! Oreo found home again!

  • thanks for sharing this, very touching! =)

  • @h1t5uj1 - Thanks!!!
    @tenigee - I may just have to do that some day.  Appreciate it.
    @smiling_spunk - Glad you found the story heartfelt!
    @wutuwaitn4 - I don’t think you give your life enough credit!
    @eyesochinky - Thanks.  Cute name
    @cpaiva - Of course your picture helps make it the top.   Beijos.
    @ihsankhairir - I’m glad you enjoyed it.  Thanks

  • @LeeKymKween - I’m glad you liked it!  Thanks

  • Wow. This was an amazing story. Thanks for sharing :)

  • This is so, so touching. It really hits home and illustrates the point that a pet is never really “just a pet”. Oreo had such a profound impact on dozens of communities, and it looks as everyone who met him was lucky to have him. It’s great that you have such wonderful memories of this miraculous dog.

  • Haha well im sure Oreo’s in a nice place reading this post now.. He’ll be glad to read of how much the love and friendship he carried with you be appreciated by so many of us here. Great and thanks for sharing! One for the memories …

  • Amazing dog! And I think I’ve seen the picture on the fridge in FRIENDS.

  • What a great story, and what a beautiful dog! Awesome photos, always looks like Oreo’s smiling. He sounds more like a guardian angel than a dog, if you ask me. 

  • @ngondoichongchong - Happy Halloween to you too.
    @TheEnigmaticYinYang - Thanks for reading!
    @pinkdagger - That’s a nice observation.  Thanks!
    @ieatworksleep - You know what? I bet he can read!
    @aalapd - Thanks!  A few people have told me that too.  Have a great weekend.
    @nappz5678 - Thanks.  Your dog looks pretty cute too!

  • god I loved that dog.  funny, i was just
    telling someone a story about him the other day…remember when his head would
    tilt from side to side when you asked him if he wanted a treat or to play with
    his friend “scout?”  remember when he found me in my classroom (out of 100
    rooms in the bldg) on the quad and just came waltzing into the class and laid
    under my dog.  god love that dog.

  • I can only agree: You are an amazing person Carey!

  • Thank you so much for sharing this tender story of everyone’s dear
    friend. I do remember and I loved you both. there are just too many
    stories to tell about him and everyone who knew him.

  • I love this. :) I just lost my dog of nine years, and it was great to read Oreo’s story. I know he and my dog, Emmy, are in a better place. 

  • @karinski45 - So sorry for your loss.  I’m sure they’re both chasing squirrels somewhere!!

  • Wow u can really tell a story about a dog!!M

  • Very well written and touching! I actually cried because it reminds me of my dog. Thanks for sharing *hug*

  • @kidzandK9z - LOL, thanks!
    @darth_cosmos - Give your dog a pet for me.  Thanks.

  • wow wha a touching story.. I usually won’t read such a long entry but this one was very interesting and full of beautiful pictures! Oreo surely was an intelligent dog!

  • i just pass by and is interested since i love dogs

    i have had 2 dogs when i was young
    the 1st one was bought by my grandma
    but i dont even remember his name
    the one i’m gonna talk about is adopted from a industry
    his name is Bobby
    we were close fd
    for some reason our family didnt take photos of him
    and i really feel reagret to this
    he’s gone
    and i do miss him
    it takes 2days for me to finish ur post
    and my tears drop when i read to the line that Oreo died
    i really feel sorry about that
    and that remind me of Bobby..

  • @pui_ng - I’m glad you took the time to read it.  Thanks
    @wonghangyee - I’m sure Oreo and Bobby are running around chasing rabbits somewhere.  Thanks for reading!!

  • Wow! Amazing blog! Very interesting. This is one of the blogs that I enjoy reading the most!

    http://www.xanga.com/dairy_of_an_undecided_voter

  • @dairy_of_an_undecided_voter - Thanks   Why is your blog called dairy instead of diary??  

  • Gosh Carey, how touching. I sat here and balled my eyes out reading your posts about Oreo. Although I never met him, I remember the days when he was alive and living the life. I remember when you went to Warner Bros lot to the Friends stage and placed that photo on the frig on the set. I remember when you got off the plane and shared that you flew with Meg Ryan. It all seems like it was just yesterday. What is most touching about ALL of this is that my Misha, will be the ripe age of twelve next July. About a year ago I had gone through a grieving process knowing our time together was limited. Luckily, the old gal is healthier today that she was just one and two years ago. She is a symbol of all the struggles that we have endured over the last eleven years. She is the one that has unconditionally been there with me through it all. She was that mangy mutt I rescued from the evil street of East Los Angeles, the one I was going to find a home for.  She has survived breast cancer and the many changes my life has gone through. Just last week I had to have two of her teeth removed because they were so decayed. She’s still a peppy ole gal at her ripe age. She tries to keep up with Ella, the eight month old Jack Russell that Derek and I got together. She still gallops after birds, cats and squirrels even though she stands no chance with her slower speed to capture them. She still is the most beautiful, calm, and accepting dog I have known. She spends much of her days sleeping on her bed. I cherish each day we have together knowing our time, like everybody’s, is limited. Your reflection on Oreo really cemented the inevitable and makes me be in the present moment of what Misha and I still have. We still have each other. We still have our health.  We still have unknown days, nights and special moments to share and memories to make so that one day, my recollection of our life together will be as endearing, meaningful, and vivid as yours with Oreo. Thank you for sharing what you have and helping me realize the power of the present moment. Much love, Charles

  • this is witrhout a doubt the best blog I have ever read. That cop is an a-hole. Who would shoot a dog? Anyway this is awesome.

  • @Charles - Awww! Misha. Give her a big kiss for me. I still have a brush whose plastic handle she chewed when she was little. God love her! xoxo
    @thesocialparasite - Wow, what a nice compliment.  I don’t feel worthy, but thank you very much.  That cop actually ended up having a pretty miserable life.  Karma’s a bitch.  Happy Halloween.

  • i love this blog.  it’s a beautiful tribute to oreo.  some say a dog’s character and behavior reflect that of the owner’s.  if this is true, then oreo and the many hearts he touched had you to thank for being a very good parent.

  • its very touching to read about oreo..

    wherever he is now, i’m sure he is peaceful, & happy, given he was such a gentle and genial being. 

    u take care too :)

  • @rudyhou - That made me smile.  Thanks Rudy.
    @Littlemshelpful - Happy Halloween!

  • Wow, I did not get a chance to read this whole post until now. What a wonderful biography of a great dog. My heart goes out to Oreo- he seems like he was the true definition of “man’s best friend.” Thanks for the great post – that was really nice to read.

  • absolutely amazing story

  • @pxlspy01 - Thanks for reading Daniel…I always look forward to your comments.
    @nbdyzangel - Thanks.  He was an amazing dog.

  • wonderful story!  This reminds me of my doggie.  I still miss him.  Dogs are indeed man’s and woman’s best friend. 

  • I remember this post – it’s so great. Happy birthday, Oreo.

  • awww rest in peace oreo. This post was heart touching. 

  • Dang man, that really sucks. D:

    I’m sorry he went out that way, he sounds like an AWESOME dog.

  • a good dog is never forgotten – RIP Oreo.  peace, Al

  • Such moving tribute to cute Oreo…and I sure enjoyed the photos with Oreo and all those cute guys!! LOL

  • this is an incredible story told so well.  what a dog.  what a life!  damn you Carey, this ending almost made me cry. almost.

  • The Oreo story always makes me cry. What a fabulous dog – a true story of a faithful companion. How lucky you were Carey :)
    )

  • @stevew918 - Thanks Steve.  What was your dog’s name?
    @wherethefishlives - Much obliged Sam!
    @Shades_of_Athena - Thanks, I appreciate that.
    @beatingdrums - Thanks buddy.  He had a great life.
    @pukemeister - Thanks Al.
    @curry69curry - We were all cuter back then :)
    @curtainsopen - I won’t tell!
    @msmusic74 - Fabulous indeed.  Thanks!

  • love those pics. great share!

  • @garlicky - They’re oldies but goodies!  Thanks!

  • Wow that was awesome, Oreo is one incredible dog . Makes me appreciate the love and company our dogs gave to me and my family so much more.

    However with a dog’s or any other pet’s unfortunate passing, it makes you realize how much of a hole they filled in our lives within their comparatively short lives. Wonderful post Carey!

  • @LOGRIDES - What a nice message.  Thanks so much.  I’m glad you enjoyed the post!!

  • wow! just wow! Couldn’t stop reading this. Thank you Carey for introducing me to your best friend.

  • @ZSA_MD - Thanks for introducing us to Mickey too!  I’m sure they would have had a blast together!

  • @CareyGLY - I bet! But you have to read my post on “Responses to MICKEY”. I talked about this post of yours, and what happened after I read it. It is funny!!!

  • Hannah and I love recounting the story of Oreo trying to get back “home” from Chicago and ending up on the front page of the sports section!

  • @sethrocker - Awww, I’m glad she likes it!!!  You might want to also read her Chazz’s children’s book:  http://careygly.xanga.com/697556444/chazz–the-big-bad-wolf/

  • Clientele read your article, I’m sure this is certainly particularly familiar! Simple language, concise blog! Another types of style! I favor! This looks so cute! May likely consider be interested in this. I miss Alexis Bldel, I came to be a popular GG fan and loved her in to Sisterhood movies too. Hopefully she’ll pursue to act in more movies after this one.
    By <a href=" http://www.airjordans.cc/air-jordan-7-7/">Jordan Jordan Retro 7

  • I’m reading this for the first time :)  Thanks for sharing Oreo’s story.  

  • It’s always good to reread this entry.  

  • Carey, I’m so glad you re-posted this entry so that people like me who didn’t know about Oreo could have the opportunity to read about his amazing life. I’m astounded by how intelligent, affectionate, loyal, protective, and humorous he was! I’ve never thought it was possible for a “dog,” but I will never see relationships between companions, of any species, the same way again. A dog like Oreo is definitely not a dime a dozen, and your story about Oreo and the life he shared with so many others make me a firm believer in destiny — that he came into your life and the lives of others for a reason, a purpose. 

    I’m so glad you two had found each other and shared so many highs, as well as lows, with him until the end. I’m sure he will still be beloved years from now. =D 

    P.S., I would kill to see video of Oreo doing the fire trick!

  • …great blog and great pictures. =D

  • @forgottenphoenix - I’m glad I reposted it then.  Glad you liked it!
    @ElusiveWords - Thanks Matt!
    @Shades_of_Athena - Thanks
    @Olallie - Thanks Johnny.  That means a lot to me.  It’s nice to know that after all these years, Oreo is still affecting people.  I imagine that if YouTube was around back when I was in college, Oreo and his antics would go viral.  He was quite a dog!
    @Ed_Libra - Thank you Eddie.  I appreciate the kind words!

  • such a long story… but a interesting one :) hehehe 

  • @lcfu - I’ll remember not to send you the book version!

  • send me please, i will read when i have time :) just i am blog-hopping around now… hahaha

  • This was a very touching tribute to your dog. :)

  • @Rhia_Pyrithea - Thanks very much!!

  • Before I ever met Carey I met Oreo. When I was an
    undergraduate student at Eastern Illinois University this friendly pup would
    wander the hallways of the speech communication department like he actually
    knew where he was going. One afternoon, he entered a classroom just to check it
    out. He walked in and laid down next to the speech podium at the front of the
    classroom. The professor simply stated “I guess we have a University
    observer today.” We let him stay in the class. I think he learned more
    that afternoon than I did.  I saw Oreo on a consistent basis sitting by
    the doorways of different university buildings waiting patiently for
    Carey.  I loved that Dog.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *