January 31, 2011

  • I’m Entering Rehab

    The following, appeared in the Washington Post last week:

    Though it is embarrassing to admit this in public, I can no longer hide the truth. I have a Sarah Palin problem.

    I have written about her in 42 columns since Sen. John McCain picked her as his vice-presidential running mate in 2008. I’ve mentioned her in dozens more blog posts, Web chats, and TV and radio appearances. I feel powerless to control my obsession, even though it cheapens and demeans me.

    But today is the first day of the rest of my life. And so, I hereby pledge that, beginning on Feb. 1, 2011, I will not mention Sarah Palin — in print, online or on television — for one month. Furthermore, I call on others in the news media to join me in this pledge of a Palin-free February. With enough support, I believe we may even be able to extend the moratorium beyond one month, but we are up against a powerful compulsion, and we must take this struggle day by day.

    I checked, and I have written 39 posts about Wicked Witch of Wasilla, since that fateful morning of August 29, 2008, a day we wish we could all forget. So today, I declare a:

    So starting tomorrow, no posts about the Queen of Darkness. Like Mika Brzezinski, I will not give her the publicity she so craves:


    The Colbert Report Mon – Thurs 11:30pm / 10:30c
    Mika Brzezinski Experiences Palin Fatigue
    www.colbertnation.com

    “Mika, you need to buck up! Now I know you think that this story has no purpose other than keeping Sarah Palin’s name in the headlines for another news cycle. I know you think that she has nothing to offer the national dialogue, and that her speeches are just coded talking points mixed in with words picked up at random from a thesaurus. I know you think Sarah Palin is at best a self-promoting ignoramus, and at worst, a shameless media troll who’ll abuse any platform to deliver dog-whistle encouragement to a far right base that may include possible insurrectionists. I know you think that her reality show was pathetically unstatesmanlike, and at the same time, i know you believe it also represents the pinnacle of her potential. That her transparent desperation to be a celebrity so completely eclipsed her interest in public service so long ago, that there would be more journalistic integrity in reporting on one of the lesser Kardashian’s ass implants. Now I know, I know when you arrive at the office each day you say a silent prayer that maybe, just maybe, Sarah Palin will at long last shut up for ten fucking minutes. I know, I can see it in your eyes.”

    I hope my friends and family support me during this difficult time.  During my stint in Palin Rehab, I will occupy my time and blogs with more dogs, kids, and sunsets.  Enjoy!


    I dog-sat for Anjali this past weekend.  Doesn’t she look like the dragon from Never Ending Story?


    I also lost my camera last weekend, so I’m using my old one :(


    Chazz & Rio loved Anjali.  BTW, this is how they sleep with me!


    Reflections of Chazz & Rio at the beach…mirror images. Sorry for the lousy cell phone video!


    We had another great dinner at Unphogettable. It’s Claudio’s new favorite restaurant. Thanks Thai & Phil!


    Boys will be boys…


    A visit from the Oxelson’s early in the week was delightful!!


    Tommy & Andy still growing like weeds!

Comments (31)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *