June 29, 2009

  • Elmo & Jacko

    20 years ago, I worked for a bank in Chicago that used a vendor that I worked with extensively.  Eventually, I became friends with one of the vendor’s employees, Todd, who lived in Portland, OR.  One thing led to another, and long story short I went to work for the company, and worked there for 13 years while traveling the world.  When I met first met Todd and his wife Laura, they were newly married and had no kids.  17 years ago, Taylor was born.  He and I were always close, and when Oreo died, Taylor was only 5 years old, and he took it particularly hard.  He had a stuffed animal that he had also named Oreo, and he wanted me to have him.  I convinced him to take care of “his Oreo” for me while I traveled and he faithfully did. 

     
    Taylor & “Oreo”, 1997 and Taylor, and his sisters, Katie & Sarah with me in 2001

    Fast forward 12 years, and Taylor is going to be a senior in high school!  He’s in the Future Business Leaders of America and is staying with me for a few days to see the sites and look at college campuses.  He wanted to see Michael Jackson’s star, so this afternoon we braved the crowds and headed to the Walk of Fame.  Later we went to dinner and to see The Hangover, which was hilarious.  I’m dog sitting again, so we took Garbo & Ruby for frozen yogurt at midnight. 


    We thought it was funny that Elmo was wearing a “RIP Michael Jackson” T-shirt.  LOL


    Thriller moment!  Was that Michel or a zombie??


    You could barely see the star!


    Marilyn Monroe standing over a subway grate while Superman poses behind her.  Only in Hollywood!


    We got to see the cars from Transformers…then we took Garbo & Ruby for frozen yogurt!


    Tay had to try the “Lesbionic Tonic”!


    Garbo & Ruby!


    Best of the rest…

Comments (25)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *