July 2, 2009

  • Arrivederci – Ciao Xanga

    Update:  I made it to Rome, but sadly, someone on the plane didn’t.  They had a heart attack in flight.  When we landed we had to wait on the plane for medics to come on board.  Bine, Eva, Alan & Lindsay met me at the airport and we headed towards the coast.  More when I get my Internet SIM card….


    Update:  I’m in the Washington airport waiting for my connection to Rome.  The flight was uneventful.  I played with Dave Grohl from Nirvana and the Foo Fighters daughter.  What a cutie she was!  Just catching up on email now thanks to the Red Carpet Room.  See you all on the other side!  Ciao.

    P.S. I’ve set up a Google account for this trip.  I may not be blogging much, but I’ll try to post all the photos at:

    http://picasaweb.google.com/CareyGLYItaly/ItalyGLY#


    It’s 1 AM and I have to wake up at 5 and head to the airport to catch my flight to Rome.  If you need me for the next two weeks, I’ll be at the “B” below…for beach:

    Claudio & Chazz came down tonight to “help me” pack and get ready.  This was them 3 hours ago:  LOL

    I hope to be updating my blog from our Tuscan villa.  David was nice enough to send me a European phone and an air card that I can tether to the phone from the remote Italian countryside.  Trust me, it’s not easy dealing with Italian bureaucracy.  I even needed to get a taxpayer ID number to get a SIM card in Italy.  And today, after DHL arrived with my international shipment, I discovered that my laptop didn’t have a PCMCIA slot.  It had one of the newer slots that wasn’t compatible.  Since there was no time to order an adapter (and they’re hellishly expensive), Seth was kind enough to swap laptops with me for 2 weeks.  So…if all goes well, I’ll be connected.  It’s been a comedy of errors so far though, so if you don’t hear from me for a while, you know why.  I hope everyone in the States has a Happy 4th.  It’s my least favorite holiday, so I’m happy to spend it abroad. 

    Here’s where we’ll be staying.  I’m not sure where we’re all going to sleep.  There will be 25 of our friends from all over the world.  Should be fun!  I best get to bed.  Luckily I’m flying first class.  Thank goodness for frequent flyer miles!  Ciao Bello! –Carey

Comments (21)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *