December 13, 2010

  • Longing for a Blow Job

    Even though I’m an atheist, I’m inclined to agree with the postulate that everyone likes presents, Santa, peace on earth and all the things that come with Christmas and the holiday season.  I mean, what’s not to like?  That said, it’s hard to get into the Christmas spirit here in California when it’s 80° F (27° C) and sunny.  It’s also hard to be optimistic with our country in such a state of shambles; thanks in large part to greedy Republicans and an inherited deficit too big to imagine.  I was reminiscing with friends recently about the first Christmas I spent in Africa twelve years ago this week.  It’s easy to forget that twelve years ago, Bill Clinton was in the midst of an impeachment trial over lying about oral sex.  Despite that theatrical absurdity, our  economy was strong and unemployment was at 4%.  I was struck by the fact that twelve years ago, everyone I met in Africa thought the whole charade was ridiculous.  Of course, Bill Clinton sailed through his impeachment, and 12 years later, he’s still in the White House taking charge.  I was reminded of that fact when I watched President Obama introduce President Clinton during his press conference last week.  Claudio and I were talking about it, and he had mixed emotions seeing Bill Clinton handling the room like always.  He thought it was the most telling political picture of the past two years.  I don’t necessarily agree with that; but it did produce strong and mixed emotions.  Bringing Clinton into the White House was a good move for President Obama.  Bringing him to the podium was a risky move.  Leaving him to go “tend to Michelle” was a horrible move!  (Click the link, it’s hilarious!)  But it sure made for great political theater and a lot of nostalgia.  Especially as Bernie Sanders was filibustering across the mall.  THAT to me, was the contrast.  Now if the president could just find some of Bernie’s zeal.  (Though I thought he did a mostly good job at his press conference the other day, save for the hostage analogy which The Daily Show skewered so well!).  I wish the President well.  He’s in an extremely unenviable position.  In the words of Robert Reich, “I urge congressional Democrats to remember the larger principles — not in order to be purist or make the perfect the enemy of the better, but to move toward an economy and a society that we believe in, that reflects the needs of the vast majority of Americans at this difficult time.”  How I long for the days where all we had to worry about was a blow job in the Oval Office!  That said, here’s how we tried to get into the Christmas spirit here in California this week:


    Our Christmas Card, LOL


    Chazz and Rio have become inseparable and sometimes hard to tell apart!


    Andy, Tommy, Ryan, Chazz & Rio (and me)…Ho Ho Ho


    More photos here…


    Winter sunset from my front yard


    Neon art on Santa Monica Blvd.


    The Beatles at sunset


    As the sun goes down over Santa Monica Blvd.


    More photos here…


    Last night we had second row seat for West Side Story at the Pantages!  Thanks Julia!

     
    One of the great old Hollywood theaters, the Pantages.


    More photos here…

Comments (15)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *