andy

  • Cute Overload

    The cousins went to LegoLand this week and Andy had a Spring costume parade at his school.  I’ll let the pictures and video speak for themselves.  I’m outta here for a few days.  Have a great weekend everyone!  –Carey

  • Hot Chicks and Melted Rabbits

    While the rest of our family back in the Midwest hunted for frozen Easter eggs in the snow, Southern California basked in 100 degree plus temperatures!  It was so hot, my bunny melted!

    The kids had fun though and Jennifer cooked an amazing meal.  Thanks Jenn!

     
    Easter 2008, Cole, Tressa, Andy & Tommy….compared to:


    Easter 2005, Tressa, Cole Tommy and…


    Andy (with Great Grandma in 2005)


    Hey kids, I was just in a car accident!  Some things never change


    Tommy & his favorite cousin


    Yes, it was over 100 in the sun!

    And here are the best of the rest:

    Andy stole the show all day as this video will attest:

  • From 16 to 80 – These are the Moments…

    Today we celebrated 2 milestones.  My uncle’s 80th birthday and my cousin’s 16th birthday!  Both pretty important numbers as birthdays are concerned.  I gave my uncle a card that was for a 40th birthday, but I wrote “times two (x 2)” in front of the 40.  My rationale was that I hope I look half as good as my uncle when I’m 80!

    It’s amazing how fast the kids are growing.  Look at Kyle, Cody, Kevin, Kenny and Emily in these photos starting just 5 years ago when I first moved to LA:


    2002


    2003


    2004


    2005


    2006


    2007


    2008

    Meanwhile, I’m just getting greyer and fatter.  LOL.  Here are a few more pics from the party.  Have a good week everyone!

  • When Santa Met Darwin – Christmas 2007

    Happy New Year from Rain

    Ho Ho Ho!  I hope everyone had a Merry Christmas.  Fred & Susie had Christmas Eve this year for the first time in their new house.  There was SO much more space than we usually have and the kids had plenty of room to run around and play.  The only problem for me, was the 3 cats but I survived.  We did a grab bag this year, which was really nice.  I got a great leather camera bag and an extra camera battery from Sam. 

    These are some of the little photo Christmas tree ornaments I made this year.  I thought they came out pretty well.  I still need to work on finding the right photo dimensions though.


    Fred & Sue’s backyard is right out of Gilligan’s Island

     
    There are even banana trees


    And persimmons


    And a tennis and basketball court (OK, maybe not like Gilligan’s Island!)  Damn, I should have been a sports photographer (not)!


    Curtis, Kevin, Susie, Fred, Cody, Kyle & Kenny


    Rob, Cole, Tressa & Jenn


    Lisa, Andy, Tommy & Joel


    Tressa, Tommy, Andy, Carey, Cole & Cody


    Pre Santa


    One eyed Buster and Roxy in their Christmas finest


    We had the webcams going with our family back home in Chicago.  My brother was showing me the snow there, so I took my laptop outside and…


    pointed the webcam at the thermometer

    Which kind of reminded me of this photo of my Dad which was taken 30 years ago on  Christmas Day 1977.  We called out to my aunt and uncle in California and (the same ones I’m here with now) and they said it was 80° and they were barbecuing.  My Dad told them he was cooking out too…and this picture was born. 


    Nice legs Dad!

    Everyone seemed to really like their presents.  The girls got brand new Nikon SLR’s.  I got the new Stephen Colbert book, and a new Gorilla Tripod, a bluetooth mouse, the Hairspray “shake & shimmy” DVD, the Camp DVD, some toiletries, sweatshirts, hats, a crystal globe from Italy and a heated towel rack.  The kids all got new DS games, and were actually quiet most of the afternoon.  We took them to see Alvin & the Chipmunks tonight (save your money), and then I drove home to prepare for Bassam’s arrival.

    As I watched my niece (via webcam in Chicago) open her presents this morning, I was reminded that this year she announced that she no longer believed in Santa Claus  (She’s 19.  j/k).    This is interesting to me, as I’ve had the Santa discussion a few times in the past month with friends.  We discussed it in Portland over Thanksgiving (is it OK to lie to your kids?).  Tyson and I discussed it after the God debate.  I personally feel the power of myth can be a good thing, and that the Santa myth is pretty darn time tested and solid.  I also found it interesting to note that my niece wanted to spend Christmas morning watching her little sister (who still believes in Santa) open presents, before going over to her Dad’s house (her parents are divorced).  So Santa or no Santa, God or no God, most of us can’t resist watching kids open presents on Christmas morning.

    Children believe in Santa Claus. Creationists believe in creationism. But children eventually discard their belief in the Man in Red on the basis of evidence. So why don’t creationists? The issue here is not so much that creationism is bad science – though it clearly is and that is a serious issue. The issue here is that it is bad Christianity: blinkered, arrogant, literalistic, paranoid, pusillanimous, delusional, anti-truth, world-denying, and cringingly embarrassing Dawkins bait. (This is hardly the place to dredge through the overwhelming scientific case against creationism. It can be done perfectly well in one word anyway: fossils.)  But the parallels between these two beliefs, creationism and Santaism, are more extensive than you might have noticed.

    Both start out as reasonable assumptions. Children are not fools, but believe in Santa on the authority of their parents, who have proved a reliable source of information. Just as Christians have found the Bible an invaluable source of information about the ways of God.

    But new information makes children rethink their understanding of authority: not every story their parents have told them is literally true, but that does not make them untrustworthy in more important things. Likewise the mature Christian response grasps that God might have good reasons for letting myths be told with his seal of approval on them.  Read more…

    And not to beat a dead horse, but Daniel finally responded to the fracas over the D’Souza debate, and seeing as he is one of my most learned friends, I thought I’d post his response here:

    On the subject of atheism vs. Christianity there is much to be said. The subject will naturally submerge us into polemics of the most invidious variety. What it ultimately comes down to is this: there are those whose belief systems are culturally and emotionally grounded, and those that choose not to subscribe to what could be construed as anthropomorphic delusion.

    Although I would not purport to be a Christian per se, (despite my interest in Jewish literature and Church history) to declare myself an atheist would be both limited in scope and suggest I am seemingly indigent of imagination. An atheist believes there is no God. The problem with an absolute declaration like this is that it begs the question: what exactly do we mean by God? If by God we mean the God of the ancient Hebrews (and subsequently what some would consider the figure of Christ himself) then yes, I am an atheist on the basis that I reject the notion of a personal God. This is partially because I believe that neither the Hebrew nor the Christian weltanschauung has any right to sanctimoniously declare their self-proclaimed, respective apexes of the theological realm to be the center piece of world religions. Their rituals, which are by and large a hypocritical pre-occupation and overindulgence in sin and self-righteousness, limit the average parishioner’s ability to enter the realm of authentic spiritual ecstasy (unless you count those freaky quacks having fake orgasms on the Christian music commercials). Contrast their practices with those of the Hindus or Buddhists, and you will find that by comparison, many Christians don’t really enter into the true realm of spirit (not to level that those seeking nirvana or Krishna-consciousness would be). Buddhism and Hinduism spiritually engage their followers and encourage their quest while in the midst of life (I have witnessed this first hand). Granted, like the Christians and Jews, those religions likely mold, limit, and shape the views of their followers, but at least they are getting more spiritually advanced in the process. There is no waiting for the afterlife (which is why Marx called it the opiate of the masses) as the central focus of its tenets.

    On the other hand, to deny any possibility that there is any mystery to the magic of the living realm and how it originated (as the atheist might purport) would be just as narrow-minded as the belief that missionary work is necessary because the whole world should be subservient to just one arrogant admonition (or the ethnocentric Ann Coulter imposistionist view). Empirical science should inspire awe and wonder in humans; not the close minded, fixed views that characterize the repugnant nature of many organized religions.
     

    Speaking of “fossils” and creation, get a load of this:

    It’s an exhibit at the “Creation Museum” in Kentucky (I couldn’t make this shit up!), that depicts a “penis free” Adam naming a sabre tooth tiger in the Garden of Eden.  Nice kitty.  But wait a Kentucky minute!  “Genesis 2:25 clearly says that at this point in Adam & Eve’s life, “And the man and his wife were both naked, and they were not ashamed.” If Adam courageously sat there unencumbered while he was naming saber-toothed tigers, then why, six thousand years later, should he be depicted as a eunuch in some family-values Eden? And if these people can take away what Scripture says was rightfully his, then why can’t Charles Darwin and the accumulated science of the past 150-odd years take away all the rest of it?” 

    The first thing one notices when walking into this den of deceit is the dinosaurs.  Interestingly, they have saddles and are being RIDDEN BY PEOPLE!  I’m sorry, but I found this concept ridiculous at the age of 8 when I saw it on the Flinstones!!!  (This is like shooting fish in a barrel!)


    Welcome to white trash (the woman in this picture is likely holding a Bic Mac and a cigarette in her other hand.)

    As this excellent Esquire article points out:

    The dinosaurs are the first things you see when you enter the Creation Museum, which is very much a work in progress and the dream child of an Australian named Ken Ham. Ham is the founder of Answers in Genesis, an organization of which the museum one day will be the headquarters. The people here today are on a special tour. They have paid $149 to become”charter members” of the museum.

    “Dinosaurs,” Ham laughs as he poses for pictures with his visitors, “always get the kids interested.”

    AIG is dedicated to the proposition that the biblical story of the creation of the world is inerrant in every word. Which means, in this interpretation and among other things, that dinosaurs coexisted withman (hence the saddles), that there were dinosaurs in Eden, and that Noah, who certainly had enough on his hands, had to load two brachiosaurs onto the Ark along with his wife, his sons, and their wives, to say nothing of green ally-gators and long-necked geese and humpty-backed camels and all the rest.

    (Faced with the obvious question of how to keep a three-hundred-by-thirty-by-fifty-cubit ark from sinking under the weight of dinosaur couples, Ham’s literature argues that the dinosaurs on the Ark were young ones, and thus did not weigh as much as they might have.)

    “We,” Ham exclaims to the assembled, “are taking the dinosaurs back from the evolutionists!” And everybody cheers.  Read more about the broader dumbing down of America…


    The Times of London, said this, when this creationist crap pot opened last May:  “The $27 million (£14 million) exhibition is funded by evangelical Christians, who apparently believe that by reclaiming dinosaurs and fossils for their literal biblical interpretation of natural history, teenagers are less likely to look at internet pornography or get pregnant out of wedlock.”

    It’s 3 AM and I’m going to bed.  In the meantime, here are the rest of the photos and a couple of videos I shot.  The first one is of the kids opening their presents.  The second one is of me singing Darcy the Dragon to Andy & Tressa on Christmas Eve and for some reason it’s all jacked up.  I think it’s a codec issue, but I’ve already spent way too much time trying to figure it out and it’s still messed up.  You’ll get the idea though.  I hope everyone had a Merry Christmas!  –Carey

  • Long Day!  Ben & Missy were in town, but I only got to spend an hour tonight with them.  Will hopefully see them for brunch tomorrow.  I took the kids to see Enchanted tonight.  They loved it.  I have to admit, so did I.  Afterwards we went to a cookie exchange, and had a spaghetti dinner too.  It’s 2 AM and I’m still full.  I goofed around with a few of these pictures just for effect.  I’m just going to post these because I’m exhausted.  Nighty night!

  • It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas

    Had my normal Thursday night dinner with the family tonight.  Dar & I went to Lisa’s and I took some pictures of the kids with the Christmas decorations.  It’s harder to get into the Christmas spirit when it’s 80° outside (26° C), but Lisa & Joel’s beautiful yard helped.  After that, I went over to Aunty LuLu and Uncle George’s for cherry pie!  Their tree was beautiful too, and we dug out the old pictures from the 30′s and 40′s and they told me lots of stories, which I always love.  I’ll be off for a few days, so I hope everyone has a nice weekend.  Ho Ho Ho.


    I told Andy & Tommy that I was sending these pictures to Santa, and if he thought that they looked handsome, he just might visit their house first on Christmas Eve.


    Lisa and I in our dunce cap!


    Aunty LuLu is my Dad’s 2nd oldest sister


    That’s my Aunt in the second row with the pom poms on her shirt.  circa: 1934


    That’s my Dad, center picture on the right, and last picture on the left, with his twin sister, my Aunty PeeWee


    This is my Aunty GeeGee, my Dad’s oldest sister around 1940.  Yes, I have an Aunty LuLu, PeeWee and GeeGee   Long story!


    Lots of pictures of my Uncle George in the Navy during WWII

    If you want to see or download the rest of the pictures click here
    Din Tai Fung tonight!!!  Yeah
    See you guys next week!
     

     

  • Nuclear Winter

     Update: There’s a new interactive fire map below.  Drag & Click.

      smokey

    OK, the title may be a bit extreme, but it’s pretty strange driving through L.A. when it’s 85 degrees and snowing…..ash.  I had to go down to Southern Orange County today, and it was like going to another planet.  I thought that the air in Hollywood was bad yesterday.  It was much much worse when I got past the Orange Curtain today.  I knew that driving down was a bad idea.  My cousins warned me first thing this morning:

    Smokey
    3 messages


    From Jennifer  Wed, Oct 24, 2007 at 8:30 AM
    To: Carey

    Carey, it’s TERRIBLE at my house.  We walk the kids to school every morning (and have been all this week).  There was NO WAY I would let them walk today. I drove them to school.  When I got there, there were parents FREAKING out that teachers weren’t there with their classrooms open (so some kids were waiting outside for their teacher to show up to the class).  Our nanny) has been home all week, and I’m making her stay home again today.  She has degenerative lung disease and has been in and out of the ER for breathing treatments. I have 2 employees that live in SD County, and both can’t get to work today.  One of them has been home all week due to involuntary evacuations and fearing that it might be mandatory at any time.  Rob and I have good friends that have been evacuated from their home (2 families in San Diego county and one family in Santiago Canyon) – and don’t know when they can get back.  Carey – I’m surprised you’re coming down here.  With your asthma, you should stay clear of it down here!!!!!



    From: Lisa
    Sent: Wednesday, October 24, 2007 8:31 AM
    To: Carey
    Subject: Smokey

    Carey, I’m not sure how it is at my mom’s house (I suspect the same) but it is extremely smoky here.  We woke up this morning to a nice layer of smoke in the house.  It’s just horrible outside.  If I had a mask, I would have made Tommy wear it this morning but instead I made him hold a wet paper towel over his face while walking to the bus.  The bus driver asked if we were going to be evacuated today (not sure where that came from??)?!?!  I’m volunteering at his school this morning (which is only blocks away from my mom’s house) so I’ll see how bad it is there.  Hopefully not this bad, but I have a feeling it will be.  I haven’t talked to Jenn yet this morning either, but I’m sure she has it bad too.  I just can’t believe how much worse it is today from yesterday.  Yesterday I could hardly smell it.  Call me on your way down.  I should be on my cell.  If I don’t answer, it just means I’m probably in Tommy’s class but they only need me for about 1/2 hour so I won’t be long.  Lisa



    From: Jennifer
    Sent: Wednesday, October 24, 2007 11:05 AM
    To: Carey
    Subject: Smokey
     
    Carey – I realize that I’m south of your office by a bit (in San Juan Capistrano)…but I have to say that it is dark brown/orange outside and the smoke is VERY detectible inside my office (the air conditioning does not begin to mask it).  My building borders the 5 freeway, and it’s the air is same color as far as I can see to the north.  I’m sure your office can give you a better idea of what it’s like in Lake Forest than I can.  But honestly, the smoke is getting thicker as the day progresses.  I REALLY think you should stay home.

    Yesterday it was pretty clear – I guess the wind was blowing in a different direction and the fire wasn’t as bad.  Today is a whole different story.  My nanny was going to come to work today – but with her lung condition, we made her stay home.  I don’t want her (or you) having to go to the ER for breathing treatments again.


    All that aside, I’m glad I went because I got some great pictures.  The color of the sky was like nothing I’ve ever seen.  The ash was literally falling like snow as you can see in these photos I took this afternoon.  The kids didn’t seem to mind…their lungs are a lot better than mine.  I have to be down here again tomorrow so I’m staying with my cousin tonight.  The winds have died down a bit, so hopefully the fires will stop spreading so much.  Enjoy the photos!

    IMG_2478 [640x480]

    I took this from my sunroof driving south on I-5 near Irvine

    IMG_2506 [640x480]

    One thing about the fires, the create the most amazing sunsets

    IMG_2507 [640x480]

    IMG_2509 [640x480]

    IMG_2512 [640x480]

    IMG_2515 [640x480]

    IMG_2524 [640x480]

    IMG_2532 [640x480]

    I came outside after a few hours and there was this much ash on my car

    IMG_2535 [640x480]

    My message to the fire

    IMG_2550 [640x480]

    These 2 ASSHOLES were smoking!  As if there wasn’t enough smoke in the air!  They gave me the finger after I took their pic. FUCK YOU, FILTHY DISGUSTING SMOKERS!!

    IMG_2556 [640x480]

    See how red and puffy my eyes are?  It’s SO dry here too.

    IMG_2562 [640x480]

    I think this picture looks like the surface of Mars

    IMG_2564 [640x480]

    All of the splotches in these pictures are ash falling from the sky

    IMG_2572 [640x480]

    This tree was completely charred

    IMG_2576 [640x480]

    This cactus barely survived

    IMG_2578 [640x480]

    IMG_2585 [640x480]

    These are actually burnt cacti, not piles of wood

    IMG_2591 [640x480]

    IMG_2598 [640x480]

    This snail didn’t make it

    IMG_2604 [640x480]

    Nearly full moon rising

    IMG_2610 [640x480]

    Tommy didn’t seem to mind the smoke

    IMG_2611 [640x480]

    Nor did Andy

    IMG_2615 [640x480]

    Carey & Andy

    IMG_2617 [640x480]

    The moon

    IMG_2634 [640x480]

    This almost looks like a movie set…the color was just surreal

    IMG_2639 [640x480]

    IMG_2651 [640x480]

    Andy laughing in the sand

    IMG_2685 [640x480]

    He was imitating me

    IMG_2692 [640x480]

    Just another day in Southern California

    fires_from_oakley [640x480]

    Jennifer sent this one from by her office today.  It’s the parking lot of the Oakley Sunglasses Corporate Headquarters.

     


    View Larger Map

  • Nutcrackers and Fuddruckers

    Thanks to everyone who wrote in support of the last post.  As support for the war wanes, it’s nice to know that people are starting to take notice of some of the hypocrisy and atrocities of the Administration.  In the meantime, in the interest of being fair and balanced, I offer you the Hillary nutcracker (or ball buster if you prefer)! 

    hillarynuts

    Not much else new for a change.  My friend Ly is coming tonight for a stay at the Hotel Careyfornia.  He as his best friend are going on a gay cruise that leaves out of Los Angeles.  I haven’t seen Ly in years and I’m really looking forward to his short visit.  Pictures to follow.  Until then, here are some photos of the boys last night at dinner.  We were celebrating Lisa’s birthday (yet another family birthday) at Fuddrucker’s.  The boys were treated to a performance of me, in the car, channeling Jennifer Hudson as I tried to leave.  LOL.  Good times.

    IMG_2307 [640x480]

    IMG_2313 [640x480]

    IMG_2321 [640x480]

    IMG_2332 [640x480]

    IMG_2337 [640x480]

    Kissing Nana

    IMG_2341 [640x480]

    Yes, his finger is where you think it is!

    IMG_2343 [640x480]

    I love you I do

  • Happy 3rd Birthday Andy

    It’s hard to believe the little boy whose birth I attended 3 years ago is celebrating another birthday.  Chuck E. Cheese was the place, and Andy was the birthday boy.  A good time was had by all.

    IMG_2012 [640x480]

    IMG_2060 [640x480]

    IMG_2099 [640x480]
     
    IMG_2239 [640x480]
     
    IMG_2281 [640x480]
     
    IMG_2283 [640x480]
     
    IMG_2072 [640x480]
     
    IMG_2105 [640x480]
     
     

  • Happy Birthday Dar & Fluctuations


    Yesterday was Darlene’s birthday, so the family gathered at a pizza/pasta place and celebrated.  The kids played video games and a good time was had by all.  I had to go into my office yesterday so I took the dogs and then Lisa came to pick them up, so they played with her dogs all day.  I have a couple of friends in town this weekend, so will probably take a couple of days off blogging.  I hope everyone has a nice weekend. –Carey






















     
     
    Tasteless Joke of the Day:
     
    I recently had a bunch of Canadian dollars I needed to exchange, so I went to the currency exchange window at the local bank. The line was short, there was just one lady in front of me.  She was an Asian lady who was trying to exchange yen for dollars and she was a little irritated.

    She asked the teller, “Why it change? Yesterday, I get two hunat dolla fo yen.
    Today I get hunat eighty? Why it change?” 

    The teller shrugged his shoulders and said,
    “Fluctuations”. 

    The Asian lady says, “Fluc you white people, too.