December 1, 2009

  • Snow in Hollywood?! – How the Grinch Stole Garbo & Ruby

    The Hollywood Christmas Parade isn’t quite the caliber of Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade, but it’s been a tradition here since 1928.  It features extremely D-List celebrities like Susan Lucci, Lorenzo Lamas, Lee Majors and the minor castmembers of Glee, The Office and a slew of soap operas.  Add some assorted marching bands, balloons, floats and Santa Claus with fake snow on a red carpet and well, you get the idea. 

    The temperature in L.A. yesterday afternoon was a balmy 80° F (27° C).  By the time the parade started at 6 PM, it had dropped to a bone chilling, wintry 65° F (18° C).  I’m dog sitting for Garbo & Ruby this week, so we headed to the parade route to meet my aunt and cousins who were dressed like they were at the North Pole!  We enjoyed ourselves, but the real fun came after the parade as I was walking home.  I sneaked on to the red carpet and let the dogs play in the “snow” in front of the Kodak Theater.  They had a blast:


    When I posted this picture on Twitter, Jin said it was Sarah Palin without her makeup!


    Making “snowballs”


    Garbo & Ruby in the middle of Hollywood Blvd.


    This is my favorite


    Kids act the same way in fake snow as they do in real snow


    A Tinseltown Blizzard


    Oh the weather outside is frightful


    Southern California’s version of a snow angel


    Ruby & Garbo’s Christmas Card


    Emily with The Cat in the Hat


    Crazy reindeer games


    Waiting for the parade to kick off


    I’m usually the cold one in the family!


    The crazy Scientologists sure put on a good Christmas display


    The site of the Oscars


    Grauman’s famous Chinese Theater, before the parade


    Best of the rest…

Comments (20)

  • Carey, you’re always the lucky one getting to play with all the cutest pooches!

  • I am faking cold ! blurr!  :)    You lucky! You got to babysit cute kids and dogs.

  • that looks like a cool parade!  I haven’t been to one in a while.

  • Haha. This is so odd Carey! You are just wearing your regular sweatshirt and the others are all decked up.  

  • Ahh… I love the magic in the air that Christmas time brings around

  • i got your bone chilling 65! – send that here and we’ll run around naked!  I had snow on the ground at midnight with deer sleeping outside my bedroom window last night!  peace, Al

  • i wanna go!! >_< I love your pics. The dogs are so damn cute <3

  • IIII HI i caeryokay  I would love to be in the parade What a cute dog I miss your picture christmas cards love Donna

  • Do you wear your sweatshirts even when its 80 outside??? Around here, I’m wearing shorts and a t-shirt even in the 50s. You Californians are scare of the cold aren’t you?

  • I saw them setting up for that while driving around on Sunday!  I had no idea what it was for at the time, though. 

    Cool pictures.  Those kids sure looked like they were having fun.  (i.e. “I’m jealous”) 

  • @wherethefishlives - Yeah, a lot of us are big wimps when it comes to the cold.  Anything below 70 and I’m reaching for a jacket.  80 degrees is just a tad warm for me, personally….! 

  • @CurryPuffy - LOL, yes Gary, I only dog sit for cute dogs…no ugly dogs allowed at The Hotel Careyfornia & Pet Motel!
    @stevew918 - The above comment applies to kids too!  LOL
    @Roadlesstaken - You should come out next year Alex!
    @Dezinerdreams - I know, right? Brrr!
    @fickleboy - Ho Ho Ho!
    @pukemeister - That sounds so pretty!
    @Got_Takoyaki - Thanks much!
    @Donna Guerrero - Thanks Donna.  Hope all is well with you.
    @wherethefishlives - Yes Sam, I wear hoodies year round….my ears are always cold!
    @youthinasia613 - Next time you’re in the neighborhood, give me a call, we’ll meet for coffee!  310-623-7715

  • Those pictures of the kids in the “snow” are so adorable.

  • @ZSA_MD - Thanks…the kids really had fun.  Christmastime in LA.  LOL

  • LOL Just to let everyone know, I support Sarah Palin *sarcasm* . Oooh, I feel famous being mentioned in your blog :D

    I wish it was 27 degrees here in Auckland. Alas, I’m not in Malaysia yet no, I’ll be going this Saturday! Incredibly stoked!

    Ooooh aaah the glitz and glamour, Kodak theatre. OH HEY DID YOU KNOW TYRA BANKS IS IN NEW ZEALAND? GURL, IMMA GET MA WEAVE DONE JUST TO SEE HER, YA’LL KNOW WHAT I’M TALKING ABOUT RIGHT?

    Oh and major set back, ET is now at 4.30 pm…. I’ve been missing it so much. ET is so weirdly arranged here, they do the “coming up” previews and then BAM they show it and BAM the show is over. By the way, I’ve always wanted Mary Hart to get hit on the bum by the revolving screens :) I love Americaaaa!

  • @Loltothepower - You feel famous mentioned in my blog??  Your Xanga is my #1 all time favorite blog of all time.  No one make me laugh or smile more that you.  When you come to LA I will take you to the Kodak Theater and we will paint the town pink.  I’ll see if Tyra and Mary Hart can come along too!!

  • no idea they had this in LA. lol aww looks fun. memo to self for next year

  • @Sc12EeN17aM3 - Yeah Jad…we can get some pictures of you frolicking in the snow with the HC sign! LOL

  • i love the fake snow. at least not as chillin cold as real snow. hahha i am talking non-sense. merry christmas to you!

  • @genamus - Thanks!  Merry Christmas to you too!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *