December 25, 2009

  • Christmas Eve in the Emergency Room (Twice!)


    T’was the night before Christmas, and down in the kitchen.
    Little Andy was running, soon his head would need stitchin’.
    The stockings were hung by the chimney with nails,
    In hopes that dog Sadie would not them inhale.
    Cole & Tressa were bundled all snug in their beds,
    While Lulu was hurling and needing some meds.
    So off to the hospital again we did race,
    And we whistled and shouted and picked up the pace.
    Dear Tommy and Andy and Tressa and Cole,
    We hope you like Christmas…it sure takes a toll!

    With apologies to Clement C. Moore

    Well, boys will be boys, and this afternoon while 5 year old Andy was running around playing with all of his cousins, he slipped and hit his forehead on the edge of a chair.  It was a pretty deep cut, but luckily very straight.  He took his 10 stitches like a trooper, and was back home in time for a traditional Italian Christmas Eve dinner with pasta, turkey, ham, mashed potatoes and lots of other delicious food.  After the gift exchange, we headed back to Dar’s to await the kids in the morning for even more presents.  As soon as we got home, Grandma got very sick to her stomach and was throwing up for an hour.  (No, she didn’t get run over by a reindeer!)  So, back to the emergency room!  I wonder if they have a 2 for 1 special?  She’s currently on an IV now to help with her nausea and replenish her fluids.  Still waiting for a doctor.  It’s going to be a long night!  Merry Christmas everyone!

    UPDATE:  Grandma was released from the hospital late on Christmas Day.  I drove her to Dar’s house so she could open her presents and see the kids, and then drove her back home for some much needed rest in her own bed.  She’s still weak, but on the mend.  Thanks to everyone for their concern!  She must be feeling a little better, because when she heard my poem she rolled her eyes and gave me the raised eyebrow!

    UPDATE II:  I have come down with the stomach flu, as have 8 of my cousins.  We’ve all been puking our guts out the past two days.  It truly was the gift that kept on giving this Christmas.  I hope to be all better by Wednesday when I head up to Pacifica for our annual GLY NYE


    What a brave little guy he was!


    I always marvel at the Hollywood sign on a clear day.  Even though it took me 2 1/2 hours to drive the 60 miles to my cousin’s house, I listened to Christmas Carols and was in a good mood.


    I took this from my sunroof going 70 mph down the 5 freeway.  This is just past Disneyland.


    As I pulled onto Jennifer’s street, this is what I saw


    Kenny, Tressa and Tommy


    No Italian Christmas is complete without pasta and meatballs!


    Before Grandma got sick :(


    The kid’s table!


    Apparently he didn’t get his two front teeth for Christmas…but he does look like Harry Potter now!


    T’was the night before Christmas…


    Buster, the one eyed horndog and Roxy…waiting for Santa


    Best of the rest…

Comments (23)

  • I have a stitch scar in the exact same place as Andy’s, of course my cut was much smaller… maybe about half or perhaps quarter of the size. I think I was around 5-6 year old too. Hehe

    The food looks so tempting!

    Merry Christmas to you, your family and friends.

  • @Dezinerdreams - Yeah, I remember seeing that.  I hope his scar won’t be too bad.  Thanks for the Christmas wishes.  Merry merry, to you too!

  • aww hope Grandma is ok…

    and omg i dont think i can ever take stitches wells. kudos for him to take it. haha

    tell him to watch out for the Dementores

  • @Sc12EeN17aM3 - Thanks…it’s 3 AM and they’ve decided to admit her.  We’re just waiting for a bed, whatever that means!  She’s been vomiting now for 4 hours, and the medicine isn’t stopping it.  Crummy way to spend Christmas.  LOL @ the Demtores.  I’ll tell him   Ho ho ho!

  • what a wonderful family tradition – the gathering, not the hospital! – as i’ve said to you many times before, you are very blessed.  I did the 2 fer at the hospital a few years back when the flu took Mike down followed by his wife – fortunately the old man is fairly resistant! – lol.  here’s hoping your aunt is back home in time for Christmas day dinner.  Merry Christmas to you and your beautiful family.

  • @pukemeister - Thanks!  Merry Christmas to you and yours as well!

  • Haha whatta a brave kid, still taking pictures with that gash on his forehead! GOSH CAREY I THOUGHT YOU WANTED FROSTY BACK BUT NOW I HAVE MY DOUBTS… Far out!!! Look at the streets there, you should see mine, lamp posts = xmas decorations . !

    MERRY XMAS and the pasta looks amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Btw, I just thought of something you and Lady Gaga have in common, PASTA.

    Hug aunt lulu for me! :)

  • awww! Poor kid :’( It breaks my heart. Merry Christmas =-) Have a good one!

  • o man, what a cut. he’s still adorable though :)

    so how’s grandma now? hope she’s ok now.

  • Awwwh tell him I said he can be FrankenAndy now!  ^.^  I swear some children are just invincible, look at his proud smile hahaha  I hope grams is sent home feeling fine.  You take care dearest Careycakes <3 god bless you n your family!

  • oh wow! I hope Andy’s injury heals cleanly.
    at the very least, he should come up with a bad ass story to tell. lol

    Merry Christmas again, Carey!

  • wow, crazy xmas!

  • @Loltothepower - Frosty belongs with his birth parents here in the U.S.  Though I’m sure he’s a full blooded kiwi by now!  Aunty Lulu’s still in the hospital, but I’ll give her a big hug for you as soon as she’s out!  Merry Christmas Jin.
    @Got_Takoyaki - Same to you!  Ho Ho Ho.
    @Renatojr3 - She still can’t keep food down, but I think she’s going to be OK.  Thanks for asking.  It sucks to get the flu at 82!
    @fickleboy - FrankenAndy!  He loves it!!  I was going for the Harry Potter thing, but that’s even better.  Thanks!   Merry Merry.
    @MaximMan - Thanks again for the text.  Best wishes to you and yours.  Happy New Year!
    @CaKaLusa - Indeed it was.  Happy Festivus Chris!

  • What a brave trooper to have those stitches! I can see some delicious meatballs on the dining table! Yumm! Happy Holidays!

  • That gash looks mighty painful! Even painful to look at! lol I’m glad Andy’s okay.

    Man, the food looks good. I’m happy you had a wonderful Christmas celebration. =) And lol, are you just holding Buster’s hat?

  • @CurryPuffy - Thanks Gary.  Same to you.  Hope you’re enjoying HK.
    @Olallie - You’re SO observant Johnny!  Yes, Buster’s had fell off and I was holding it on.    I hope you had a great day yesterday too.  Andy’s doing great, thanks!

  • everyone wants a little excitement on Christmas, but not THAT kind.  who the hell poisoned granny?!!!

  • Oh gosh… this certainly has been a very eventful and troublesome Christmas.  I think you folks should have a second Christmas again when everyone is healthy.  (not that you need an excuse to get everyone together)

  • @curtainsopen - LOL, whoever poisoned Granny is now responsible for 10 of us getting sick.  What a week!  Happy New Year.
    @ElusiveWords - Thank Matt.  Happy New Year to you and yours.

  • @CareyGLY - you know, they make meat thermometers!

  • @curtainsopen - LOL….apparently it wasn’t foodborn.  She already had it and gave it to all of us!

  • Oh my goodness. You guys had something sour it seems. I hope all of you are over all the food poisoning. Happy New Year Carey.

  • @ZSA_MD - All better now!  Thanks!  Enjoy your NYE!!  

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *