August 17, 2010

  • It Was the Summer of ’85 – Xangalebrity Edition

    June, 1985 was a big month for me.  I moved out of the dorms in college and into my first real home with 3 friends.  I got my dog, Oreo, who was my constant companion for the next 12 years.  I lost my virginity (to a girl), made lifelong friends that I still have today and developed my identity.  I was 19 years old, about to turn 20.  I had yet to travel the world, but I was beginning to gain my wanderlust.  The next five years would turn out to be the most pivotal of my life.  They were years I look back on fondly.  It was a time of big hair, skinny ties, great music and carefree times.  To get through college I babysat for about 50 kids, and worked at 2 homes for the developmentally disabled.  Last week, one of those “kids” found me on Facebook and sent the following messages:

    Just like now, I took lots of pictures of kids and my dog.  Jocelyn’s message inspired me to scan a few of them. Try not to laugh too hard!  (Time to go on another diet!)


    TJ, Stormy, me, Robert, their cousin & Oreo in our house in Charleston, IL 1986


    No, I wasn’t a Republican and I wasn’t channeling Alex P. Keaton! This was during the Statue of Liberty Centennial in New York City July 3, 1986. Nice Trump hair, LOL!  I still can’t believe I posed with that asshole Reagan, who was singlehandedly responsible for the deaths of tens of thousands of AIDS victims.  Guess I wasn’t too political back then.

     


    The summer of ’85 in Aspen, CO.  I can still use those jeans as a bracelet!


    Mason, Matt & Oreo, 1986


    May 18, 1987. Oreo ran up on stage when he saw me get my diploma!


    The above referenced, Jocelyn


    Oreo & Mason – Chicago, IL  Easter 1988


    My best friend Daniel, in our kitchen in Arlington Heights, IL – Christmas 1989


    Daniel Jr. & Scotty – The mullet years


    Brendan & Jocelyn at the Field Museum in Chicago


    LOL…the B&B Daniel & I stayed in before the REM concert in 1989.  We were SO alternative!  :)

     
    Bob Sheu & Oreo in St. Joseph MI at Billy’s cottage & Daniel in the backyard posing


    If you still want to see more, here they are!


    25 summers later and I’m running a world class luxury boutique hotel!  Just kidding of course, though sometimes it feels like a real hotel.  A couple of famous Xangalebrities came by for lunch today.  Alex, also known as RoadLessTaken and Sam, (NotYourSon) formerly known as WhereTheFishLives.  They both had “holding the Hotel Careyfornia” sign on their Bucket Lists, so I was happy to oblige:

     
    To see the full size photos, click here.

Comments (27)

  • Are there any Xanga celebrities that haven’t visited your place yet?  lol… 

  • @ElusiveWords - Is that a rhetorical question Matt?  You of course!

  • @ElusiveWords - @CareyGLY - yeah, me! but i’m sooooo 2006 LOL!

  • Wow that’s a great collage! Remind me to ask you to send me some of the originals! Also, you seriously need to blog about all yor stories you told me today.

  • @JonasApproved - Hey Jonas!  It’s not like you haven’t been invited!  I hope you call next time you’re up here!  310-623-7715!
    @Roadlesstaken - Those stories were just the beginning Alex…but I have to keep some of them for in person…don’tcha think?  If you click the collage it will open to Picasa, where you can download any of the photos full size.  Thanks for dropping by.  We hope you enjoyed your stat at The Hotel Careyfornia!  :)

  • Great flash back. I want to scan some old pictures of mine to share myself. Sounds like you guys had a great time.

  • @lil_mama2499 - Yep, they were good times.  Thanks for stopping by!

  • @CareyGLY - heh i don’t think i’ll be down for a while because i have so many trips lined up – vancouver, hawaii, asia. i’m thinking about a 1 day trip there – fly in morning and fly out night – just to eat so i won’t have time to visit anyone at all haha! one day!

  • @JonasApproved - Well you’re always welcome.  You have Xanga VIP status :)

  • hopefully i get the privileged of holding the sign!

  • @CaKaLusa - I’ve already got your reservation confirmed Chris.  Honeymoon suite!  See you in September!! 

  • @CareyGLY - lol! honeymoon!?!

  • @CaKaLusa - Yeah, all of our Platinum members get free upgrades

  • I already made my comment on Facebook… not saying anything else here.    

  • @Dezinerdreams - Duly noted Vivek!

  • I really enjoyed this, and holleee…. you were quite the hunk back then, no wonder she remembers you. And Daniel… hmm…an eye candy… hahah.
    Dang, I want to steal that sign!

  • Great photos! And I definitely need to hold that sign some day, seems like everyone’s talking about holding it, haha.

  • @CareyGLY - hahahaha…. no I mean real celebrities that have seasons tickets to the front pages of Xanga.  OMG – is that really your number?  I thought you have a 1-800 number for the hotel?  Besides if I visit, I’ll be anonymous. 

  • @x_Reckless_x - LOL…yep, a lot can change in 25 years!  Daniel is still handsome though…but he’s married with 4 kids!  :)  BTW. the sign has a very elaborate security system.  Think Tom Cruise in Mission Impossible. 
    @m3galomaniac - Thank you Alvyn.  I will definitely look forward to that.  You’re always welcome!!
    @ElusiveWords - LOL, yeah, 1-800-Love Carey!    Actually, I do have a toll free cell # believe it not.  I’ve had it since 99!  OK Mr. Privacy…your pictures with the sign will be pixelated.  How’s that?

  • I loved this!  Brought back fond memories.  If You were in college in 1985 we must be about the same age.  I’m 43.  The big hair and those skinny ties ROCKED!

  • @ItsWhatEyeKnow - Thanks…yep, I’ll be 45 next month.  Glad you enjoyed the blast the past.  Thanks for stopping by.

  • OMG.  look at you in those old photos.  hhmm, i think it’s safe to say people change in appearance as metabolism goes slower.  i know I have.  i’d be too embarrassed to show the world what i looked like back then.  even if i was much cuter then.  i wonder if your friend bob sheu still looks as good as he did then ;p  by the way, can’t believe alex and sam got to take pic with the famous sign before i did.  sigh… guess one can’t possibly does so unless he’s actually in LA!  ;(

  • No way! It’s Carey from the past! Is your next blog entry going to have Carey from the future?

  • @rudyhou - LOL…yeah Rudy, Bob has aged pretty well.  He still had a great body!  Sorry…the sign can’t come to you…you have to come to the sign! :)
    @pxlspy01 - Yes CJ!  Can I borrow your time machine this weekend?  P.S. Thank your sister for her comment on Twitter too! :)

  • Interesting life story!

  • @Trigger821 - Thanks for stopping by!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *